We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ribblesdale Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gisburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ribblesdale Park
Save
You added Ribblesdale Park to your Saves list
Mill Lane, Gisburn BB7 4LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first visit and having just got home I thought it only right to post this review. The accommodation was first class and the hot tub, well what can I say. Absolutely brilliant! The kids loved it, my wife loved it and I loved it. The setting was fantastic and did exactly what I wanted it to. It took me away from the hustle and bustle of the city and we had a fantastically relaxing break. The staff were friendly and sitting in that tub at 10pm when the children are in bed listening to the wildlife is something I will remember for a long time. I look forward to visiting again. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
dear holiday maker...that sort of review really makes doing this worth our while...as with all the reviews the whole company reads them and we thoroughly enjoyed this one this morning...many thanks!
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    126
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
165
256
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing three day break to celebrate our daughters 13th birthday. We ordered flowers, chocolates and birthday pack they were displayed with so much attention to detail. They made the surprise so special and for a very reasonable price we cannot thank you enough for the effort! Upon arrival the lodge was opened for us the heating was on it was lovely to walk into a warm room. Ten minutes after arrival a lovely lady comes to check everything is ok. The accomodation knightley is ultra modern and felt very luxurious and was spotless.The hot tub was spotless and warm even in the rain. The surrounding are beautiful with pheasants walking past your doors the grounds are immaculate. The cafe is so clean you could eat of the floor , the cakes are delicious and the staff are second to none especially the one that delivered my daughters breakfast sorry i didnt get your name. The beds are comfy and the kitchen is well equipped. I can honestly say i have never written a good review before my husband cringes at my fussiness but here they just have it perfect from the minute you book to when you leave and not forgetting to mention David and all his wonderful help when booking my daughtets surprise. Well done to you all you should be very proud and thanks for the marshmallows on the bath such a wonderful touch

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
thank you so much for your review. i was in the office when i heard lots of planning going on for your daughters birthday so am well aware of all the preparations made to make it extra special for her. i am glad everything else with the lodge and cafe met your approval!

we do a lot of 'special requests' for people...baking birthday cakes, balloons, rose petal on your bed, decorating a room for a surprise engagement, etc etc u name it we have done it!

u also mention how reasonably priced we are...i like to think that we are great value and we certainly try to be...we are not always perfect and when things go wrong we will do whatever we possibly can to sort it out. thanks again and hope u come back soon
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked to go to ribblesdale park in july but decided to do a preview run as the weather was horrible here. On arrival at the park we went into the cafe and asked which number lodges were the ones we had booked and drove round the park to have a nosey. We are impressed with the whole site.really looking forward to our holiday..looks fantastic. We did notice though that a lot of the residents were walking around with backpack carriers with babies in and wellington boots so we are preparing for our stay by buying walking gear and a backpack carrier for our son. I would say if you plan to use it as a base then its not necessary but if you plan on exploring the local surroundings then ideally suitable footwear clothing and accessories are advised. Loved the location ... cant wait. Will review back in july :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just got back from a lovely 5 day stay Chatterly lodge number 9. It is just across from the cafe but still private as it is surrounded by trees and bushes so you don't have to worry about being seen in the hot tub. Everything in the lodge was great and the inside Jacuzzi bath area was amazing. The Jacuzzi was powerful and the underfloor heating was lovely too. I cant think of anything to complain about regarding the lodge i thought it was a perfect size for 2, everything was clean, perfect size fridge/freezer. Outside on the decking there was a picnic table perfect for sitting outside in the sun. The hot tub was amazing! I spent most of my time in the hot tub as it was so warm and relaxing at anytime of day and in all weather, especially in dull weather. The park in itself was really quiet and well looked after. It has plenty of little walks you can do to see everything on site. We had a few drives out to see what was in the area, Gisburn is lovely and Tesco is about 8 miles away into Clitheroe which i thought wasn't too far away. Ingleton Falls in beautiful if you are prepared to have a day out as it is about 40 minutes away but well worth it! The cafe on site is lovely as well and all the staff are lovely.We didnt have any problems so i cant complain about anything.
We would like to recommend The Spread Eagle in Sawley which was only 10 mins drive away and it is beautiful, large menu to choose from and brilliant food and it is lovely inside. Situated on the River Ribble. Brilliant!
We will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at ribblesdale park. We stayed in the chatterly lodge and found it was charming exactly what we wanted out of our honeymoon accommodation. The food in hindelinis was lovely as are the staff. We checked in after the cafe closed but there was a phone number to call and a very friendly man came and showed us to our lodge. The local area was lovely with plenty of little towns to visit. after a day exploring Lancashire and Yorkshire the hot tub was just so relaxing and so was our spa bath. Would recommend this for couples.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for bank holiday weekend, we were placed in lodge number 9 opposite the cafe, at first I was a bit concerned about being so close to the cafe as I thought the hot tub wouldn't be secluded. However, we had no noise from the cafe/reception, the hot tub is secluded as a brick wall is in front of it and then fencing so we were private, when its dark we weren't close to any other lodges hot tubs so it was nice and calm.

Great open plan kitchen and front room with freeview and a dvd player for a relaxing evening. Tried the pub Bulls Head which serves local pub grub which was tasty, not too expensive either.

Shame about the cafe closing at 6pm but we enjoyed a scone and cake one lunchtime which is very yummy! Staff are friendly and the wifi wasn't working but they apologised for this inconvenience .

Have to say I am very pleased we were in No.9 as we weren't too close to the other lodges. Nice garden area at the back of the lodge. We arrived at 8.30pm so we rung the number on the window and were greeted with our keys within minutes. Great Service,

It was so nice to have a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath open plan which looks just like the picture.

There are some nice walks around the park, we walked through an archway down past a field with some horses in which was very nice. Walking to the pub through the field full of sheep was an experience aswell! Will do it again!

The hot tub is checked daily which we thought was good to check the temperature and levels were correct each day.

Only downside was that you couldn't control the temperature of the lodge so sometimes it was cold on a night. But jumping in the hot tub for a few minutes soon solved that.

Thank you for such a relaxing, peaceful break away!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
thank you very much for your great review. i am thrilled you enjoyed the lodge with its four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. it is a lovely space and very private. i hope u will visit us again soon...all the best
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have very mixed feelings about Ribblesdale. We have just got back from here after a week stay for our honeymoon with our 1yr old daughter.
I was really excited about seeing the lodge and the park after reading about it and booking through Hoseasons.
When we first arrived at about 6pm the cafe/reception was closed so we had to call someone to be checked in. I could see that the lodges were all really close together and was hoping that our lodge as one of the more expensive would be private, it was not, it was surrounded, it looked nothing like on the website. we originally booked the Darcy Lodge, but after saying it was our honeymoon we were moved to the Bronte Lodge, so I was very excited
The website says - Stylish and comfortable lodge. One king size four poster bed and one twin both with flat screen TV/DVD and ensuite with whirlpool bath with overhead shower. Large open plan kitchen/living area. Large decking area with outdoor hot tub

The four posted bed is just a bar thin framed four poster, barely worth mentioning as a feature, the decking area was not at all large, just a walk way really and the hot tub was on the grass and was out of view of the patio doors of the lodge, which cannot be locked from the outside as there is no key provided for them, which with our 1yr inside we were never comfortable in the hot tub.

The hot tub was overlooked by 2 lodges we could also see into other lodges and hot tubs.
All lodges are very close together, we had no views. The bedroom carpets had stains on. The childrens playground had no swings, just a bare frame where they used to be and we saw no rare breed animals that were mentioned. I have to say that 10 mins after arriving I felt really upset that we were spending our honeymoon there.

You cannot control the heating, it was freezing some nights or too hot, which was worrying with a baby

We were going out one day when man we don't know demanded our keys to do some work at the lodge, he didn't introduce himself or anything which made me feel very uneasy.

the cafe is great, food is lovely and staff very friendly, but sadly it closes at 5/6 everyday so you cannot get dinner onsite, which was very disappointing as it would have been very handy with a baby. The web states that the cafe does takeaways, but only until 4.30 and not if they are busy.
The area is nice, with some good places to visit. I don't think we would return

A warning, and not in anyway a complaint against the park, there is a chinese takeaway menu called the Food Code left in our lodge, do not order from here! The food was inedible, and not entirely sure what meat was in some of the dishes, it was revolting!

It wasn't a terrible place, but definitly not for us

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribblesdale, Owner at Ribblesdale Park, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
dear holiday maker

i am terribly sorry that u were underwhelmed by your stay with us...especially as you were on your honeymoon and with your 1 year old daughter.

the bronte lodges are loved by many but everyone has individual tastes and so i cant argue with u if its wasnt your cup of tea. regards the four poster - they are solid oak four posters worth over 2k each. on the wentworth lodges we add drapes to them and on others we leave them without, more modern looking. again its simply down to personal taste. i myself prefer them without the drapes as per the brontes and chatterleys. these lodges have 2 spacious light bedrooms both with lovely ensuite bathrooms. the living areas are open plan and over the years have been very popular with our customers.

re the heating - all lodges are thermostatically controlled so there shouldnt be erractic temperature changes unless someones messed with the thermostat which sometimes happens but all the staff on the park are on hand to fix these sorts of things as and when they occur.

thanks for your very positive comments regards the cafe...

as i said i am sorry u didnt enjoy the bronte lodge - it was photographed recently for a newspaper article about the lodge so i will post the photos online as soon as i receive them as they came out great.

all i can do is apologise in this instance and hope that u return and give us another opportunity to show off the park.

best wishes
guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ribblesdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribblesdale Park

Address: Mill Lane, Gisburn BB7 4LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gisburn
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ribblesdale Park - a holiday village on a private estate on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ribblesdale Park Hotel Gisburn
Ribblesdale Park Gisburn, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ribblesdale Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.