We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, friendly host.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Bull Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gisburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Bull Hotel
Main Street, Gisburn BB7 4HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Gisburn B&B and Inns
burnley
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Average food, friendly host.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went to this public house/restaurant with a large party. Had contacted the White Bull previous as we wanted to reserve a table (being such a large group), and asked if he would be able to put some balloons etc up. The food was a regular menu or a special menu, most decided on the special menu, as it was a three course meal at £13.50. The food was quick, but on the whole was average pub food, the best was the homemade chips. The host was so friendly and helpful and couldn't have been any more attentive. Probably worth a visit for an average pub meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
4
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place me and my husband went to the white bull after waiting an hour at the local Italian restaurant (not happy) we were welcomed by very friendly people and was even given free pizza because we explained what had happened and I must say it was lovely. cheap drinks, great company from staff and locals and tasty food what more could you ask for A++++ thank you for making us welcome Natasha and lee (the newlyweds)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Yet again the white bull has excelled in providing a superb meal. The vegetables were cooked beautifully and the service was spot on. At the moment they have an excellent special menu which offers 3 courses for £13.95 which is outstanding value. Hassan and Rachel are excellent hosts and are very attentive. The real fire sis beautiful and certainly helps you to beat the winter blues. We will be back again very soon :) xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I come to Gisburn quite a lot and always go to the White Bull!! Love everything on the menu and always have a good chat to the staff. I'd highly recommend this to anyone visiting Gisburn...one of the highlights in this quiet town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We thought we would try the White Bull in Gisburn as we have not been in since the new owners took over - very good decision - we had a fantastic meal. I had the "Hot One" Pizza which was delicious and my husband had the Lamb Meat Balls which were also delicious. All the food is fresh and well prepared. Large portion sizes, so excellant value for money. Will definately return very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Didn't stay here but decided to pop in for lunch as it had changed hands some months previous (the last owners practically wiped out the trade) The food was a mix of English and Mediterranean. I opted for a spiced chicken kebab with rice or chips, pitta home made mayo and salad. It was delicious and you got plenty. Partner ordered fish chips and peas with home made tartar sce. Both very impressed, the home made chips were delicious. Prices were slightly above normal pub grub but well worth it considering it was all fresh and not out of a jar/packet. will definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We didnt stay here but popped in for a bite to eat and a few drinks. Cozy and amazingly friendly. Food was out of this world! Top class restaurant food at pub prices! Would definately eat here again! Staff could'nt do enough and made us feel like part of the family!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bull Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gisburn BB7 4HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Gisburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gisburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Bull is a grade II listed building, used as a coaching Inn over 100 years ago. It has a excellant reputation for, great food, warm hospitality and a good range of wine and beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Bull Hotel Gisburn, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The White Bull Hotel to your Saves list