We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crofter's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crofter's Hotel to your Saves list
Crofter's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A6 Cabus, Garstang PR3 1PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Excellent service, wonderful location, quiet and spacious room, good food and great entertainment. Manageress was very friendly and we have stayed here numerous times. We can reccommend this hotel highly.

The entertainment provided is the best in the area, especially the party nights for Christmas and New Year.
The staff are the friendliest in the country.
Very clean and nicely decorated to a high standard. GOOD FOR BUSINESS OR PRIVATE FUNCTIONS. SPACIOUS ROOMS AND FUNCTIONS ROOMS.

Room Tip: all are good. Paul and Elaine Davies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
What a lovely review. Thank you for highlighting all the great things that we offer at the Crofters. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
kind regards
Nicola Cheetham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    28
    15
    16
See reviews for
22
62
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I booked the Crofters via laterooms.com a couple of hours before required in order to stay overnight after a nearby wedding. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. The bed was comfy and the decor good. The bathroom was tidy and the shower was fine. We didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment on the food.
This hotel was very good value and we will certainly use it again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit at the Crofters. Thank you for highlighting the great value for money aspect that we try to promote. I look forward to seeing you again at the Crofters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff were very friendly, the bar food was good ( with an excellent choice) and the room and bathroom was spacious. However, all night there was a 'symphony' of clicks and drips coming from the central heating pipes and nothing we did would stop it. Avoid room no.21 !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It really makes a difference to all the staff. We hope to see you at the Crofters again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We dined here a few times and the food is actually very decent for bar food. The dining area (away from the bar area) appeared to be closed every time we went, so I'm not sure if that is even open at all. The bar area is nice however so we ate there. The menu is large enough with some good variety. The food was pretty fresh and nicely done. The drawbacks are being in the bar area because of the noise and the waitress being stretched really thin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We do get very busy in the Tavern, which creates a good atmosphere. We are one of the few places around where the food is cooked fresh on the premises by trained chefs, which our guests definitely appreciate, Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

May we just start by sending our apologies to Nicola for the delay in writing this review, we've just been so busy since our wedding.
Nicola, what a fantastic Wedding Reception you organised for us. From the moment we arrived at Crofters to the morning after when we left, the service we received from you and your staff was second to none. The professionalism both from yourself and your staff was nothing short of first class. From the drinks on arrival to the decor of the Reception room to the food and the Bridal Suite we could fault nothing. Besides Nicola being the owner, manageress and function organizer she is such a lovely person to talk to and know. We had many laughs with Nicola right from the 1st time we met her and i for one ( Groom ) cannot thank her enough for bringing so much lightheartedness into what should have been a very stressful time ( especially leading up to my speech ! ! ! ) All of the guests commented on what a beautiful Reception we had and many of the guests who stayed the night said how lovely the rooms were. The Wedding Day we had was absolutely gorgeous and Nicola and her staff put the icing on the cake. May we both just say a MASSIVE MASSIVE and SINCERE thank-you to all staff and especially you Nicola for helping to make our Wedding Day so special.
Our sincere regards
Di and Rob

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We all enjoyed the day too! We try to make each wedding as personal as possible and I am glad that you felt this too. We look forward to seeing you at the Crofters again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel nice enough. Friendly reception, nice bar. However if a hotel cannot supply the basics, what's the point?

After getting back after a wedding we had a couple of drinks at the bar and went back to the room. Feeling a bit hoarse and fancying a glass of water I find myself stuck. Not one glass or cup of any sort in the room which is just ridiculous.

I'm sure some of you may think this is very overreactive and nit picking but this is the kind of default that should be included.

If a very basic thing such as a glass is ignored then what's the point?

Has the feel of a cheap b&b than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
What a shame that you marked us down for the final score about a glass that could have been provided in seconds. I am glad that you seemed to enjoy the hotels facilities and that the staff where friendly. A missing glass in a hotel is unfortunate but easily rectifiable. I look forward to seeing you at the Crofters again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOLIHULL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is easy to find,has a decently sized car park, and the reception was warm and friendly. We arrived before the registration time, but were treated very well and they managed to clean our room within the next twenty minutes. The bar and restaurant area was very clean and roomy with the service being good. There was a good range of things to eat at reasonable prices, and also a good range of drinks available. The bedroom was quite roomy with a large en-suite incorporating a large bath with good shower over it. The bed was a little squeaky but we had a reasonable nights sleep. The breakfast was very good and was served with a smile. The checkout process was quick and easy. Although we only stayed for one nights B and B we would be happy to stay there again and for longer next time.Overall, this hotel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 11 was good, but on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL1478, Owner at Crofter's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We certainly try to be the best value around and constantly check to ensure our drinks prices in particular are the cheapest in the area. I am glad that you enjoyed your trip and look forward to welcoming you back at the Crofters in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crofter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crofter's Hotel

Address: A6 Cabus, Garstang PR3 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Garstang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crofter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Crofter's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crofters Hotel Garstang
Crofter's Hotel Garstang, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crofter's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.