We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bowgreave Drive, Garstang PR3 1YE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ideal for stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the second time on 30th December to break our journey to the south. The room was excellent with everything you require. We had our evening meal in the bar and the quality of the food was as good as we remembered from our previous visit. The staff were very friendly and it was a very pleasant evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would hope that we would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are ideally located for breaking up long North, South journeys and so pleased you chose us one again for your stopover.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Thank you for the review
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    73
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
38
68
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Lovely overnight stay with friendly welcoming staff. Comfortable room and good, wholesome food. Perfect on a cold, wet and windy night. Ate in the bar served by friendly bar staff followed by a perfect night's sleep. Very good value for money. We both agree we would definitely return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. All reviews are welcomed and yours is one of those that makes us work even harder. A top contributor can give us a great comparison to how we fair against other hotels, its rewarding to know that for your stay we are doing well. Thank you and hope to see you on your next stay.
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We got a room for 35 quid. You cant moan at that, you cant stay in a bnb in Blackpool for that! You get what we expected. A clean big room tv lots of hot drinks to choose from. The bed was big two twins together. Very soft bed. Typical sheet style quilt. The shower was amazing. Better than travelodge and premier inn. We will go again when in the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad you could take advantage of our special offer and get a great rate on your room. I hope get the opportunity to return and enjoy the hotel again. Kind regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided to have our first Christmas dinner away from home and we chose the Garstang Golf and Country Club after recommendations from friends. We were not disappointed, the setting is really nice and the hotel staff are friendly and welcoming. We chose the overnight package with Christmas dinner served at 4pm.
Upon arrival we checked in and went up to our room, it was spotless and was at the rear of the hotel which affords excellent views across the golf course. After having a lovely hot bath we went down to the bar area where a complimentary drink was served. We then sat down and were given a menu to choose from for our 6 course Christmas dinner. After finishing our drinks we were shown through to the dinning area to join plenty of other people enjoying christmas lunch the 'stress' free way! The food was excellent apart from the brussel sprouts.. they were rather chewy and appeared to be frozen as opposed to fresh. We enjoyed a lovely meal and were presented with a gift at the table.. the service was excellent and the staff very attentive. After our dinner we had a walk round the surrounding area and then returned to the hotel. Around 7.30pm we went down to the bar area and the evening buffet was set out.. hot and cold dishes were available.. My wife had a cold dish and i tried a little of the sweet and sour chicken, it was lovely but i had nowhere to put it after dinner!! Next time the earlier sitting may be more practical..
After a comfy nights sleep in our spacious room we went down in the morning for a lovely cooked breakfast before heading home. All in all a very enjoyable stay at this hotel and they do make a real effort to create a Christmas spirit. They have a huge Christmas tree in the reception area and the roaring log fire makes it feel really homely.. My only gripe here would be comfier chairs.. It may well be the way forward for Christmas lunch not least because i always do the washing up.. getting out of that little task is worth the money alone. Very good value for money when you beak it down.. Thank you to all at the Garstang Golf and Country Club.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel have lovely views across the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
The greatest compliment is for a guest to recommend us to a friend and we are grateful they did. Thank you for the lovely review and capturing the Christmas spirit at Garstang, by sharing your experience you are helping us and others, Thank you and Happy New Year.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here several years between Christmas and New Year and have been impressed with the attentiveness of the staff. The reception is graced with an enormous Christmas tree - and a roaring log burner - a lovely welcome on a stormy night. The rooms are large with comfy beds - our room this time was a twin which had been made-up as a double. The furniture is pleasant with a proper wardrobe rather than the hanging sculptures which a lot of newer hotels have. The bathroom was fine - delighted to say we started our stay with 6 towels for the 2 of us and still had 6 when we checked out. My only disappointment was that the bathroom fan didn't work properly - we did report it on checkout.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your experience with others. Many of our guests do return and I hope this is a reflection of our hotel and the special ambiance and service we provide not just over Christmas but all year round. Thank you for reporting the fan which has now been replaced. Kind regards and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I went along with work colleagues on Friday 13th December for our Christmas night out and have to say the venue was very nice, staff extremely friendly (although their uniforms are drab) and the lady organising the waiting on staff was excellent! DJ was brilliant!!! he had everyone dancing from start to finish.
However the food for £26 per head I would have expected far better quality.........it was served hot but that's where the compliments stop as it was tasteless and no points for presentation. Dry turkey, salty gravy, cremated sausage in bacon and a choice of crisp sprouts or crunchy carrots. Not sure how you can go wrong with fresh fruit salad but it was dry as a bone, I didn't dare try the mince pie for fear of what was hiding in there and coffeee was so strong it would have put hairs on your chest.
To conclude masses of improvements to be made!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments about our staff, DJ and venue. We are always monitoring our prices and at £26 believe we have one of the cheapest party nights for any hotel in the area (if not the cheapest) especially when you factor in the cost of the drinks at the bar, a 3 course meal plus some fantastic mince pies from a local baker (shame you missed out) and coffee from one of the country’s most respected suppliers Mathew Algie, plus crackers, hats, balloons etc, entertainment and a bar which stays open until 1am. I agree the presentation of our traditional roast Turkey dinner may not win us any awards but it is difficult to present a dish which can be served to hundreds of guests within minutes out of slices of turkey breast and leg, pigs in blankets, roast potatoes and gluten free gravy. I am disappointed we didn't exceed your expectations with our food and will take your comments into consideration along with all the other feedback we receive, and actively seek out through our feedback forms, which to date has a 100% satisfaction score.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Visited this hotel over 21 to 23/11/2013. The staff are the best I've ever come across in any hotel without exception. They were friendly, helpful and always courteous, without exception. It was worth the visit just to experience their service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarstangHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you, I shall be printing this review off and sticking it on the staff room wall. We have a great team of staff and kind comments such as yours give them the motivation to keep delivering great service for all our guests.
Kindest regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre

Address: Bowgreave Drive, Garstang PR3 1YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Garstang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garstang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat into the Lancashire countryside and enjoy the benefits of a family owned purpose built country hotel which is small enough to care but large enough to deliver on your expectations. Our central location ensures that our guests can enjoy all that the Northwest has to offer. With 32 well equipped bedrooms, lounge, restaurant, brasserie, 18hole golf course and floodlit driving range we can accommodate and cater for most needs with a warm personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre England
Garstang Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.