We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice way to spend an hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheese Shop at Dewlay

The Cheese Shop at Dewlay
Garstang Bypass Road, Garstang PR3 0PR, England
01995 602335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend an hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The shop is open to the public and is a great shop for cheese lovers - selling cheese, chutneys, crackers, gifts and accessories. The museum is informative but small, and the viewing gallery is well worth a look.

Just like most good cheese counters, there are samples out for tasting and you can also ask to taste any cheese you'd like.

I wouldn't plan my day around going here, but worth popping in if you're passing,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Cheese Shop at the Wind Turbine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Coming up the A6 towards Garstang, slow down just before the Wind Turbine and turn into the Dewlay Cheese Shop. Here you will find a delightful selection of delicious lancashire cheeses and other goodies and even watch the cheese being made if you get there early enough. Buying direct from Dewlay at the source it is so fresh and tasty you will never buy your cheese from anywherre else. There is a small charge to see the cheese being made and to tour the museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cheese lovers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you're a fan of cheese, this is a great little place well worth half an hour of your time.

We paid £2.50 each to visit the museum and watch them making cheese from the gallery. We then tasted a few cheeses before sampling a small selection and making a purchase. Prices are similar to a supermarket. Staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable on their products.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A life churning experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant hour or so was passed seeing this very interesting cheese factory. Everything was done to make the visitor's journey through the factory an interesting one.
The cheese shop was full of tasty samples, we bought some of the Garstang blue which didn't last long once we got it home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Smile - Say cheese !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went on the guided tour which was fascinating. They are really passionate about their cheese and we were taken through the whole process from how they change local milk to into all the different types of cheeses. There were plenty of samples to try at the end. You will want to take some home with you from the shop which was excellent and I've definitely become a fan of Dewlay Lancashire cheeses. It's certainly well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheese Shop at Dewlay also viewed

 

Been to The Cheese Shop at Dewlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheese Shop at Dewlay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.