We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing beyond belief!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Holly Farm

Old Holly Farm
Cabus Nook Lane, Garstang PR3 IAA, England
01524 791200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Garstang
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing beyond belief!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I had to get on 2 buses to get there,when i arrived what a disappointment,not much to see ,2 goats,3 pigs,3 rabbits.its free entry but they certainly know how to get their money,£ 4 per child to go in the indoor play area which is tiny,food and drink expensive,could have been and gone in an hour,if you want a good day visit the wild boar park at chipping,lots more to see and do.i would never go back,the leaflet really sells it and makes it seem like its bigger and has lots more to see,this is not the case,my 4 year old was not impressed bless her.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was disappointed to read your comments, as we feel by protecting the free entry to the open farm we offer families a great value experience. I'm not sure whether you visited our outdoor paddocks, as there are further animals to see, plus the calf shed, again which is all free to visit. I will have a look at signage for visitors using public transport who may not be aware of the paddocks.

We are really pleased you were able to visit us using public transport.

Our standalone playbarn is designed as an optional visit, so customers have the choice whether to visit it. The £4 entry fee is in-line with our local competitors, and we offer discounts for larger groups and a loyalty scheme for regular visitors. We are always reviewing our prices, so will keep your comments in mind for our next review.

If you have any further queries or comments please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email. Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    11
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun visit for young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are a number of animals for you to pet or feed which little ones enjoy. I remember donkeys, calves, goat kids, pigs, rabbits, chicks, alpacas and hens Not enough for a full day but plenty to entertain the under 7's. There is a climbing frame outside and some ride on toys. Inside there is a soft play centre which has an admittance fee for children and security is reasonable with a bolted gate to stop children leaving on their own. Parents can enjoy a meal while the children play close by. There is another separate café area for those not wishing to use the play centre. Hygiene facilities are excellent. There is a gift shop which sells ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your feedback and delighted that you had a good time during your visit.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a realy nice place to go..very friendly helpful people and all for free...children can handle baby chicks and rabbits and feed feed the cows and a tub of food is a mere 50p,,great handwashing facilities all around the place...the shop is very nice and not like one of the comments stateing it was like the pound shop...don't know how she could complain obviously doesn't know what a fun day out on the Farm is...some people are just so petty...a great play den for children at reasonable price and a cafe where you can relax and watch the childen downstairs or upstairs with careful waitress service as they watch when delivery of food so children don't run into danger...outside play activity with ride on tractors for kids...a great time if you are 1-100...I am 66 and loved it so don't know how anyone could complain...great a good 5*...I will return next year.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your feedback and delighted that you had a fantastic time during your visit.

Look forward to seeing you all again next year!

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing day out with our 4 year old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Entrance to the small farm enclosures is free. We were able to pet rabbits and chicks. See goats, pigs, cows, sheep and alpacas. We were also able to feed the calves. There are excellent hand washing facilities in the animal enclosures.The animals look extremely content and well cared for. There is a soft play centre called the Play Barn and entrance for a 4 year old was £4. The play barn is a good size for children under 7 in my opinion. Our 4 year old loved it! There is an on site café which is connected to the Play Barn. So, it is possible to dine at tables inside the Play Barn and watch your children play. The separate café is quieter. The menu is extensive and reasonably priced. Especially the Cream Tea Specials after 3pm. Children's Menu available. Our food was freshly cooked and very enjoyable. There was a lovely selection of homemade cakes.
I have read some reviews where some previous visitors mention a long wait for their food. We were served very quickly. We were there on a Thursday afternoon and it was very quiet - perhaps at weekends it gets busier. The farm, the Play Barn, toilet facilities, the cafe and gift shop were all really clean. I have to admit that we were expecting a bigger farm from the advertisements that we had seen and from the website. So, in one sense, we were disappointed that there wasn't more to see and do. However, we really enjoyed our visit. And remember - entrance to the farm is Free! It was very relaxing. The staff were all very pleasant and efficient. The background music in the Play Barn was not too loud. So, over all, I would recommend a visit for perhaps a morning or an afternoon but not enough to do for a Full Day out! We will be going back but we will probably visit somewhere else in the morning. Then go on to Old Holly Farm in the afternoon to play in the Play Barn and enjoy lunch or an afternoon Cream Tea. One thing that is important to mention - Old Holly Farm is an all weather venue. A great place to entertain the children if the weather is inclement.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your feedback and delighted that you had a fun relaxing time during your visit.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Big Barn Farm experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A popular local attraction for my son and young grandson, I joined them to visit all the farm animals in their enclosures. Pigs, goats, calves, chicks, alpacas, donkeys, rabbits, chickens. A walkway round the pastures for a lovely stroll to see those outside the barns.
There are hygiene notices with hand sanitisers and wash basins to ensure that we don't pass germs on to the animals and vice versa.
We enjoyed cream teas at the cafe in the morning. They also served a wide range of snacks and lunches. A couple of small school /nursery parties were enjoying guided tours and educational talks. This is a working farm so they were able to collect eggs as part of their lesson.
Staff are friendly and helpful. It will be great to visit again, when I'm next down to see my family.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Holly F, Manager at Old Holly Farm, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read your feedback and delighted that you had a good time during your visit.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Holly Farm also viewed

 
Garstang, Lancashire
 

Been to Old Holly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Holly Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.