We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Quaint..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipers

Pipers
46-47 High Street, Garstang PR3 1EA, England
01995606665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Garstang
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Very easy to find on the High Street. Opposite the Crown Hotel
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cosy and Quaint..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Pipers is a lovely little restaurant in the lovely little village of Garstang which is well worth a visit for somw all round wholesome high class restaurant cuisine. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is comfortable. The restaurant is within the confines of an old cottage so those over 5'6 tall will have to walk with a stoop however this just adds to the authentic and rustic experience of this local restaurant. The menu is fairly small but rammed with delicious starters/mains and desserts that will in no doubt please all tastes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I had heard good reports of Pipers so decided to try it out. I was most impressed! The cuisine is excellent based on a relatively short menu? Wine also was first class. The restaurant is dinky in size but the food is tremendous. The only reason for 4 rather than 5 stars is that those who served were a bit amateur and could have been less serious. A smile aids the whole dining experience and this was lacking on the evening we were there. That is easily remedied though. Excellent place! I will spread the word!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Who'd a thowt it - a shining star in a little Lancashire town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Piper's is less than a mile from where I live and I have passed it most days for the last 6 years without giving a thought of dining there. However, necessity being the mother of invention and being by myself for the time being, I popped-in last Friday evening and was wowed by the experience. The menu gives excellent choice and it eats just as well as it reads. Careful attention to choice of ingredients and balance results in fine food being presented to you in an appetising manner.

Three delightful courses for £21 may seem a bit expensive in it's enviornment BUT it is worth every penny. I was so pleased that I took a visiting daughter there on Sunday evening and reapeated the experience on an offer at less than £19. As a complete glutton, I have just booked again for this evening's special offer. That says it all. Well done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a very good restaurant in the centre of garstang on high st with both excellent food and service we have been several times and will certainly visit again booking is essential mainly at weekends, try it and I am sure you will not be disappointed. Some people say it is on the expensive side but you only get what you pay for.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best food in Garstang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pipers is without doubt the best eating establishment in Garstang,it's only small but that doesn't detract from its worth at all,the food and service is superb.you will need to book early at the weekends so as not to be disappointed,it's not cheap-but that's more than reflected in the food and service quality,steaks,chicken,seafood etc etc,the menu is fairly small but never disappointing.Its a special occasion place for my wife and I and long may it continue.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipers also viewed

 
Garstang, Lancashire
Garstang, Lancashire
 

Been to Pipers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.