We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Chip Shop

The Dolphin Chip Shop
35 Blakiston Street, Fleetwood, England
+44 1253 875558 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Fleetwood
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

just lovely grub , great service all good The staff are extremely friendly and just add to the wonderful atmosphere BEST fish and chips for miles

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bolton, nr manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best fish and chips anywhere !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

always come here with my dad when we holiday near by or days out, we love the mini fish and chips with tea bread and butter, its a lovely little place always welcoming owners are really friendly !!! cant fault it !!! taking my dad for a day out tomorrow and first thing he said was "are we going to the dolphin for dinner" ? lol and i said why ask dad you know im always up for going to the dolphin !!! haha xxx see you tomorrow :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveleys
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“worth a tram ride to me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

to enjoy the BEST fish and chips for miles around i catch a tram and travel 5 miles just to eat at the dolphin. every member of my family when coming to stay insist on going to this chippy at least once while they are staying with me. why they havn't won best chippy in the north west yet i don't know. sharon and tony are the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Dolphin on one of our regular visits to Fleetwood and were determined to sample the food as the reviews are overwhelmingly good. We were not disappointed. It is a lovely,clean Fish Bar with a really cosy Dining Room. There is a great selection of various fish which is served fresh and has a light batter. We both had Hake which was absuloutely delicious.
The staff are extremely friendly and just add to the wonderful atmosphere. The Chip Shop is always full of regulars and I envy them having such a fantastic Take Away so close.

I would recommend anyone visiting Fleetwood to eat here. Unfortunately,it is situated just off the "tourist trail" but I would urge visitors to take the short walk from the main road and they will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Chippy Value For Money and Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I live a stones throw away from this small local fish and chip shop, and i must say there is never a day its quiet. From my own experiences i highly recommend going if haven't already been!

The fish is FRESH every single day and there is a range of fish on offer such as haddok, plaice and hake with the batter being superb, along with portions of scampie available. The Dolphin Fish and Chip Shop doesn't only cater to you fish lovers but it caters to everyone having a range of pies, burgers, fritters and much more on offer for customers to buy.

Take out is very popular, as is the dining room! It is a small modern dining room that seats 21 so is idea for big families or work lunches as well as dinner for one or two, everyone is welcome. The new owners who bought the chip shop just over 2 years ago are extremely friendly and have a very welcoming approach.

Best chip shop in Fleetwood and great value for money deffiently a must! The Locals Choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Chip Shop also viewed

 
Fleetwood, Lancashire
Fleetwood, Lancashire
 

Been to The Dolphin Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Chip Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.