We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday afternoon lunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astley Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Astley Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Astley Bank Hotel
Bolton Road, Darwen BB3 2QB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Monday afternoon lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Been visiting this hotel for ten years,recently on a monday afternoon,i was dissapointed with a cold mushroom starter.Very average coq au vin, my wifes salmon not quite cooked through,and appalled at tin strawberries being used as garnish for a chocolate brownie.It seems a cost cutting exercise including the un drinkable coffee to accomodate the new exstension.Very sad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    30
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
44
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had heard rave reviews about Astley Bank Hotel, although we had never ventured there. So as a special treat along with our friends we booked for the Christmas Disco, 2012.The whole evening was a gastronomic delight, from the warm welcome by the staff on arrival, to the excellent high quality food and wine served throughout. The four of us were seated in the new conservatory, festively decked out. Christine my wife said she felt like royalty in the way we were treated and that the food was the best she had eaten! This is our first experience of dineing at Astley Bank, yet I am sure it will certainly not be the last. We all commend the Head Chef (Jimmy) in his attention to detail and the sumptuous culinary delicacies served up on that evening to remember. Our only regret was we had not booked a room. Well done Astley Bank and we all look forward to our return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visited this hotel on business, and really is a hidden gem. The rooms are lovely and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and a wide choice is available. Only comment I would make is that the portions could be slightly bigger as the food is very tasty indeed and some of the sauces used are delicious. Compliments to the chef and staff here, you guys know about providing excellent customer service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel many times over the past couple of years and I have never been disappointed.
The staff are extremely friendly and appoachable. The food both at Breakfast and dining in the evening is excellent with a good selection on the menu, which is changed over the seasons.

The rooms are comfortable, inparticular the rooms in the main building, which are individual both in layout and decor.

I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I live in Darwen and have been visiting Astley Bank for over 15 years. It is simply one of my most favourite places to eat and even stay on occasions. I have never been disappointed and have been called fussy in the past (by my hubby). High quality food, attentive staff - always a wonderful experience. Looking forward to returning to eat in the new conservatory soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

excellent food , attention to detail was brilliant .we cannnot fault the experience of dinning at astley bank .we will be returning later in january with other family members we have told about this hidden gem...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A big family gathering took place at Astley Bank Hotel for a special birthday party and it was an excellent choice of venue. The hotel was very good to deal with during the planning process and nothing was too much trouble for them. On the day of the party everything went perfectly and the food was superb. Add to that the very good accomodation and you have a very happy party goer :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astley Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astley Bank Hotel

Address: Bolton Road, Darwen BB3 2QB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Astley Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astley Bank Hotel Darwen, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astley Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.