We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
Junction 4 M65 Motorway | Motorway Service Area, Darwen BB3 0AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Darwen
Fife
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Reasonable access to M6 with clean and well presented room. Handiness of dowstairs Co-op Gregg's, MacDonald's, etc help giving choice although we travelled into Darwen for a very substantial Indian meal.

Room Tip: Usual long corridors, at end and facing car park would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
15
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here when travelling to see family. Great value for money, everything you could need on site (24 hour McDonalds included)!! Staff were very friendly on arrival and could not do enough for us. Plenty of room for us and our 2 year old and baby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here as a family of five in two rooms. Staff were very helpful going out of their way to book us into our next travelodge and make sure we had the phone number should we need it. Clean and comfortable rooms. A good nights sleep for all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is at the top end of the car park for the motorway services, with fast food restaurants and convenience stores downstairs as well as (thankfully) Costa. Parking is free, but you need to get a pass from the hotel, which has to be displayed as soon as you check in. Entry to the hotel and lifts is by key card, and it usually took 3 attempts to get the card to work.

The room was standard Travelodge - slightly tired looking but OK. The bed was comfortable. There was low water pressure in the shower, so although the water was hot, it was slow coming through. The shower curtain was short, meaning water splashed onto the floor, and only half of the bath had non-slip coating. The towel was hard and scratchy.

I paid for a breakfast box, and asked for it to be delivered at 9am. I was woken before 8.45am by a member of staff banging on the door, who said snippily "Your breakfast. 9 o'clock".

The housekeeping staff were the noisiest I've ever come across - they were literally shrieking at each other from room to room by 9.45am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Five of us had two rooms for a Monday night. We had pre-booked at a special rate. Both rooms were large and very clean. Great value for money if you don't require breakfast. There is even a Co-op downstairs (open till 10pm) for any items you need, and not at the normally inflated motorway service area prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to visit family in darwen , the room was big (family) and spotless . There wasnt any noise at all when we went to sleep , we live very rural and cant stand noise!! It was modern and had everything you need , the cleaner was very helpful and cheery . The only thing i can fault is their breakfast option , its rubbish although there is a macdonalds underneath the hotel . We would definately stay again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel was pretty much as you would expect for a service station hotel. there were a few things which I wasn't too pleased about. 1, shower taps were damaged but still working. 2,hot water in the sink wasn't working. 3, the extractor vent in the bathroom was very loud and didn't turn off when bathroom light was turned off.

The biggest offender was that Sunday morning we, and I would guess the whole hotel was rudely awoken by cars screeching and revving very loudly behind the hotel.

To sum up its a good hotel if you are only staying for a short time. there is a mcdonalds and coop in the same building so grabbing a quick bite to eat is easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwen hotels

Been to Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel

Address: Junction 4 M65 Motorway | Motorway Service Area, Darwen BB3 0AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Darwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel Darwen, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.