We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellybobs Farm Park

Wellybobs Farm Park
Davy Field Farm Roman Road | Eccleshill, Darwen BB3 3PJ, England
01254 772884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Darwen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wellybobs is a family run farm with lots of indoor and outdoor facilities.The emphasis at wellybobs is close contact with our wonderful animals. All our animals are extremely tame and are displayed in clean light conditions so you can meet them and stroke them. We have a petting area where you can meet our little furry critters, this is always staffed to ensure our animals are never mishandeled.Outdoors we have lots more animals and lovely countryside to explore,we have an outdoor play area,which includes our ever popular Zip Wire. We also have a 9 hole mini golf course (extra charge applies). Our indoor play barn features a timber play frame, giant bouncy slide, bouncy castle and toddler soft play zone, we also have a reptile area and go cart track. Moo's cafe serves home made hot and cold food and drinks at very reasonable prices and our ice cream parlour serves delicious ice cream made on a local farm. We also have a party area and gift area.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've just had my son's 6th Birthday party at Wellybobs and what a lot of very happy and exhausted little kids we've got on our hands...fantastic day, staff great, animals and attractions exactly right for children. Take no notice of the 'ooh, it's cold and a bit grubby' naysayers - it's a FARM PARK for goodness sake, it doesn't pretend to be anything else! Take a couple of jumpers and some wellies and you're sorted!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    29
    28
    52
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to wellybobs due to buying a groupon voucher, my little boy is 4 yrs old and we both had a fantastic day, the staff was very friendly, the activities was really good, the animals were very well looked after.
We fed lambs, held chicks, my little boy had a pony ride and a quad bike ride. There was a soft play area and a cafe inside to warm up which my little boy enjoyed, and I think the cafe was ok value for money. We will be definatly returning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heath k, Owner at Wellybobs Farm Park, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Glad you had a good day
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't trust the website”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We got a groupon deal and I'm very glad we didn't pay the full price. Everything was rather tatty and worn, especially the soft play area which made it unsuitable for small children not to mention boring to begin with. Even some of the animals looked a bit grubby and tired. The staff didn't have specific stations and we saw the same girl serving food and ice creams that had been handling the animals which we found a bit off putting and glad we brought a picnic. The only upside was handling the smaller animals but this is available free at our local park so were very unimpressed. Even with the so called events ( egg decorating being boiled eggs and old felt tips) we only stayed for an hour. The reindeer area was full of rubble and large rusty nails and needs IMMEDIATE attention!! Staff weren't supervising anyone's interaction with the animals. What looks like a lovely day out turned out to be a worrying time watching for safety hazards.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eggstrar special Easter treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We found wellybobs on the Internet offering an Easter special which for £22 (2 adults, 2children and 1 21month old which we thought was a bargain. There was lots to do including paint a boiled egg for an egg and spoon race, feed the new born lambs with milk bottles, hold baby chicks, free pony ride etc not to mention feeding the animals. There was a cuddle corner which the children loved as they got to hold a rabbit and a guinea pig. An inside area with snakes, chameleons, tarantulas. They played for at least an hour an half in the indoor area whilst we had lunch. Finished the day off by playing in the outside play area and a quad bike ride price at just £1. Cafe slightly pricey but Overall an excellent day out. Will definitely be returning!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I went to wellybobs with some of my family and it was amazing. The food was very good and it was a very good price. They have cute baby animals including a baby donkey, 4 baby lambs and some baby goats. We had an amazing time and my daughter had a pony ride which was very good and she loved it. We held some animals and we all had the best experience ever. I would recommend this to everyone as it has a safari ride, pony rides and lots more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellybobs Farm Park also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Blackburn, Lancashire
 

Been to Wellybobs Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellybobs Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.