We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangiamo

Mangiamo
108 Bolton Road, Darwen BB3 1BZ, England
01254760770
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 44 restaurants in Darwen
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
LANCASHIRE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Visited on Friday before Christmas with 11 friends from work. Fabulous night - great entertainment - Neil Diamond tribute act. Great food, lots of choice (garlic bread is fantastic) and very efficient service. We have been here previously to a tribute night where the food was buffet style and was very mediocre. Well done Mangiamos!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    60
    31
    15
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

wife 41st birthday with friends,there was a elvis act on as well,very good night,resonable price night,would go again for a party night

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“busy night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I went for the first time recently which in fairness was a busy night however a few issues to feedback,firstly no one greeting there about 25 people crammed into the bar entrance and we waited there for about 20 mins before being seated,a suggestion would be someone greeting to welcome guests and explain delay and keep customers informed,no one uttered a word and pretty much everyone commented on why they were waiting. When we were seated our taken promptly however a chap then appeared and put a garlic bread on table and disappeared my daughter took a slice (she is5) he then returned and dramatically put two more on the table and let him know we did not order any bread and he abruptly snapped why did we eat a slice and then went off in a strop! Starters came prawns/....tasted ok but presentation lacked care and detail. Main course fillet steak covered in a sauce that lacked care again ,would also question quality of fillet I normally buy from aldi for a fiver and this was know where as good.kids had pizza which was a big one cut in half it was soggy....not what I we would expect from an Italian....very lazy why can't make two individual ones and bake it properly. Puddings were best part waffles....ice cream.....spent £125 quid.....my suggestion focus on food it has to be the most important thing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing food to say the least!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Was in the restaurant before xmas at a Neil Diamond tribute evening, we had a good night because of the company and entertainment. Mostly, the food was mediocre to say the least, the only items that were really ok were the ones that had to be cooked there and then, pizza and pasta. Only one of our party had a decent meal. The garlic mushroom starters were awful, well stewed whole mushrooms, swimming in liquid sauce etc etc. I could go on. They need to up the anti for me to go again, sorry. Have given an average rating because of the entertainment, the food was poor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Christmas Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent christmas day at Mangiamo's and it was great. The food was really nice and tasty and our waitress was really really helpful. We spent christmas day here last year too. We will definately be there next Christmas thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangiamo also viewed

Darwen, Lancashire
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mangiamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangiamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.