We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Post House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Post House Hotel to your Saves list
Old Post House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44-48 King St, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clitheroe
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel for one night because we were going to a wedding,we received a very warm welcome,the room was spotless, tea and coffee in the room, iron and ironing board,the bed was so comfy. Parking is at the rear of the hotel. If you visit have a walk round the very busy quaint high street.Breakfast was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    38
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
66
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights in July 2013. Whilst my wife attended a 3 day training course I worked from the hotel room for most of our visit. The hotel owner and his team could not have been more helpful and friendly. They made us feel really welcome. The hotel is ideally located within the town. We found lots of nice walks and places to visit such as the castle. It is also a short drive to some wonderful riverside locations where you can relax by the waterside. There is free car parking at the rear of the hotel.

The breakfast is included in the room price and it is a really good spread with a cold buffet to help yourself from and a hot breakfast cooked to order. It really set us up well for the day. On the last day of our visit the owner was kind enough to let me use a table in the dining room to work after vacating my room after enjoying a late check out time.

We are already booked in again in October and are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel on the top floor. Need to go up two flights of stairs but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent three nights here for a summer break. The Hotel is clean and well run, and as we had booked ahead and paid, were given our room key straight away. We were on the top floor and I hadn't expected the two flights of stairs we had to negotiate with a heavy case, as there isn't a lift. The room was nice and bright, with a great view up to the castle, and a spotless bathroom. The bed was comfortable and all of the usual facilities were there, including a kettle, tea, coffee, biscuits, plus a hair drier, ironing board and iron. Add to this free Wifi and what more could you want.
The manager was very helpful and advised us on various attractions and walks.
Breakfast was the usual selection of cold buffet or full English breakfast, with various options in between such as eggs on toast etc. These were very fresh and served promptly. See elsewhere for my review on the restaurant.
The Old Post House is situated just a few hundred yards from the main crossroads in the town centre, and a mere 50 yards or so from the station in the other direction. An ideal location to explore the delights of this lovely little town. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Good views from the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We saw this hotel online last year but it was fully booked on the dates we required...no wonder! What a smashing place this is, friendly check-in, great room, lovely clean bathroom, very central location but best of all was the breakfast...fresh local produce and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was just delicious...very very impressed and would definitely recommend...we'll be back!! :-D

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We just had one night in Clitheroe after a very long flight. Old Post has a traditional facade but is modern and bright inside. Warm welcome, cosy, spacious room up a few flights of stairs and comfortable bedding. Perfect after hours of flying to reach Manchester. Restaurant downstairs shares with the bar - bright tablecloths, cosy. Breakfast is served in the same room. Plenty of choice including full cooked. Good value food and good service. We enjoyed our first night in England and recommend Old Post Hotel for value, service and friendliness. Clitheroe is a pretty village with castle ruins on the hill.

Room Tip: Had room on top floor (2nd), at back so no noise from street or bar. Bar was quiet the night we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Recently stayed at The Old Post House for our son's wedding, our whole family plus many relatives also stayed here. We all found Wayne and his staff to be very welcoming, polite and friendly.
The hotel itself is extremely comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean and all needs were met, hot drinks and biscuits available, iron/ironing board, extra bedding etc.
The food, including breakfast and evening meal, were excellent. There was an abundance of food to suit all tastes and we enjoy the fact that much of it is locally sourced.
We left feeling that we would happily make a return visit in the future. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

First impressions were not encouraging. After driving all day, never been to Clitheroe, we found the place but there's a double yellow line along the front of the hotel. That means no stopping. How are you supposed to check-in and unload? Anyway, we did stop and a local directed us to the hotel park at the back, down a narrow lane. Things picked up from there, except for some young female yelling at the top of her voice and swearing at her boyfriend at 2:00am as they walked down the back lane. Not the hotel's fault. As others have reported, breakfast and dinner are excellent and service is good. I was surprised that local berries were available so early in the season, delicious. And full marks for sourcing lots of fresh, local food. We enjoyed our two-night stay and judged that it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Post House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Post House Hotel

Address: 44-48 King St, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Post House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Post House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Post Hotel
Old Post House Hotel Clitheroe, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Post House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.