We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, great B&B, super Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waddington Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clitheroe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waddington Arms
Save
You added Waddington Arms to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Waddington, Clitheroe BB7 3HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, great B&B, super Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my Fiancée decided to stay here for 1 night with our pet dog due to it being advertised as "dog friendly" first impressions were of a warm pub atmosphere with a nice collection of beers and ales.

We paid for a Dinner, bed and breakfast deal and were entitled to a three course meal off the pubs menu. Wow! It was fantastic top quality gastro-pub stuff. Scollop starter was a highlight as was the roast duck main. We both opted for a cheeseboard of lancashire cheeses which rounded it off nicely. We then sat in front of the fire with our dog drinking and speaking to the friendly locals

B&B part of the pub is separated by some stairs and it's own door leading out into the beer garden (ideal for our canine companion!) which would've been lovely in the summer, alas it was very cold that evening. Our room was SPOTLESSLY clean and adequately sized with a bath and shower, double bed and wardrobe, TV and chest of drawers.

Breakfast was a freshly cooked full english and choice of tea or coffee. Can't beat it.

The only complaint was that the WA is opposite a church with a clock which chimes throughout the night ever 15 minutes! This meant that we didn't get the best night's sleep but we can't hold the pub responsible for that.

Overall: The Waddington Arms far exceeded our expectations. It was down as £85 for the B&B alone but we are so glad we paid the extra £30 to add the Dinner to it as well. The drinks weren't cheap but the atmosphere makes up for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    36
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
95
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stated here for a friend's wedding down the road at the expensive inn at whitewell. Its about a £15 cab ride away.

The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Just what we needed. A newish bathroom, large comfy bed. Just right.

The food was absolutely lovely too. Breakfast was particularly good.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 4 was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times..very friendly staff and we were well taken care of. I highly recommend the steak and ale pie, having said that, all the food i have eaten there has been of very good quality..:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Staying at a caravan park, approx two miles away, we walked to this place for lunch. I had already confirmed they were dog friendly, so Skip and Alfie came in with us whilst we ate. Lovely 'olde worldly' inside, and clean. The staff were very polite and friendly, and the menu and special board gave extensive choice at reasonable cost. I had the rib eye, which was perfectly cooked and presented, in a black pepper sauce, and rustic chips, Mandy had the wild mushroom risotto, which was also well presented, and we both enjoyed the food very much. I had a pint of 'Waddy', a local ale which was very nice. Other diners, also had their dogs with them, and the staff offered water for them. The toilets were very clean. A very pleasant walk (no rain!), and a pleasant place to be. The accommodation also sounds terrific, a double room with breakfast and dinner (starter, main course and pudding, any choice off the menu), £115.00 per room per night. The scenery and walks in the area are stunning, and the village which gives the pub it's name, is very pretty with a stunning little church. If we come back over this way, another visit is definite!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Second time I have dined at the Waddington Arms. A very busy place but lovely location in the village of Waddington. Hospitality was good and the food was excellent - a good choice on the menu and on the specials board. Between 6 of us today we had (starters) goats cheese, welsh rarebit, pate, tuna pasta bake and prawn salad (mains) lamb shank, roast beef, steak and ale pie and cheese and onion pie (desserts) chocolate brownie, eaton mess, flapjack and banoffee pie. Not a fault with any of it - very tasty and would recommend as a lovely place to dine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Recently rode through the trough of bowland and stopped off for a bite to eat. Food was very good and plenty of it. The staff were very attentive to the point of being asked four times if everything was alright. The village location is superb,there is a large carpark to the rear with a decent beer garden.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Just returned home after a night at the Waddington Arms, feeling very tired & dissapointed. We booked a night away in this well known country inn, hoping to enjoy good food & a relaxing nights sleep. Well the pub was lovely, the food was delicious & the rood was satisfactory but unfortunately we were kept awake until the early hours by local youngsters drinking in the bar below our room, shouting, swearing & banging doors & tables left us stressed & tired! When they finally left & we tried to get some sleep the village church clock put pay to that by chiming every 1/4 of the hour! We were so tired next morning that we missed breakfast that finished rather early at 9am, upon checking out the manager wasn,t around so unfortunately had to complain to a young lass who was covering reception. She apologised for the noise we experienced & said she would mention it to the manager but explained that these were local people who are regular visitors to the pub & it appears that these rowdy teenagers take presidence over the b & b clients. It wasn,t what we expected of this so-called quality country inn & has definately put us off returning, would recommend anyone booking a room here packs a pair of ear-plugs!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waddington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waddington Arms

Address: Waddington, Clitheroe BB7 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waddington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Waddington Arms Hotel Clitheroe
Waddington Arms Clitheroe, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waddington Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.