We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Pub in Clitheroe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at the Station to your Saves list
Inn at the Station
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   King Street, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nicest Pub in Clitheroe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a stylish, comfortable, friendly and warm place to visit if you are in Clitheroe. Positioned directly across from the iconic 'Dawson's', this is a must-visit eatery for the hungry or thirsty visitor. I have never stayed in the hotel, but there are many good reviews. The food is great quality and very reasonably prices. With a variety of seating from chairs and tables to sofas this is the sort of place you could while away hours with friends!
Must mention the staff, they are brilliant at making you comfortable and looked after!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
36
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Channel Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was very impressed with the room.
Very quiet even though I had a road side room.
Bedrooms are large with ample storage, room was actually very plush. The only thing that let it down was the cleanliness of the bathroom, the shower needed a good bleach as it was black along the edges, pity as the room itself was hotel standard.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

During our recent day out in Clitheroe, we decided to have our lunch out. As we were coming out of Dawsons store, we saw the Inn at the Station public house across the road, and after looking at the outside menu decided to give it a try.
The interior public area décor whilst in a modern style was somewhat dark and dismal and did not reflect a Christmassy feel.
We both chose the 10oz gammon which also included chunky chips, mushy peas, tomato and a choice of either fried egg or pineapple.
After quite a long wait, the meals eventually arrived but we were not impressed by the presentation as the chunky chips were in fact pieces of potato fried and we were surprised that the meals were served with mushy peas.
Whilst the staff were friendly, they were not engaging and just appeared to be doing their job.
We will not be returning nor recommending this establishment in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a wedding in October with three other couples. The others had lovely, newly decorated rooms in duck egg or the superior black in one case.

My husband and I had a poky twin room, with very drab decorations and outer walls which were beginning to show signs of damp. There was a heck of a climb up three staircases to reach it. The saving grace was that the beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, too.

The irony is that I was the one who'd made the initial booking, saying I didn't mind twin or double as long as it was a nice room.

Room Tip: You need to be fit for the top floor, but avoid the room called Bristol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Cannot rate highly enough. I certainly liked Clitheroe but the accommodation at the Inn at the Station made it outstanding. From a very warm welcome on a cold day to being shown a superb and spotlessly clean and well furnished room all set this place up excellently. Breakfast from 8:30 to 9:30 was a bit early but certainly worth while - I love my cooked breakfast and the Inn's was a great addition to the higher charts of cooked breakies around the UK (abroad doesn't count - they never do Black Pudding ;-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice location Pleasant staff and looked like ideal place for weekend break. . lovely room but now I have to lie awake listening to music banging away in the bar . !
Ok so kids don't go to sleep till afterid midnight but some people do .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The best thing about the Inn is the staff...very friendly and helpful.
We were three couples, the two rooms at the front were large and airy, the third, at the side, much smaller but charged at the same rate. All the rooms were nicely refurbished and the beds comfortable, but the lighting was very gloomy, not just because various bulbs were missing!
Our room was freezing on arrival as the heating was off, and it took a long time to warm up.
During the night it was wet and windy, and the window frame rattled loudly so our sleep was disturbed.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and enjoyable.
I felt the hotel was overpriced compared with other local options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Station

Address: King Street, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Station 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Victorian building located in the centre of the lovely market town of Clitheroe. Now restored into a smart and stylish modern British Inn. We have seven lovely en-suite guest rooms located on our first and second floors. Individually furnished – we can accommodate families, couples and single guests – catering for business clients and tourists. We serve simple, fresh food in our bar/restaurant – all our meals are homemade, cooked fresh to order and many of our ingredients are sourced from local suppliers. We offer a Children’s menu with healthy, freshly made choices. Our bar is vibrant and well-stocked with a large choice of cask ales and international beers and lagers – awarded Cask Marque status. Our wines are well chosen and our freshly ground coffee is always available with a piece of cake! We have highchairs, baby change and disabled facilities and a small car park is available for our guests. Eat, Sleep, Drink and Meet – you will always be assured of a real warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Station Hotel Clitheroe
Inn At The Station Clitheroe, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.