We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stays that I have ever experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of York House B&B

York House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clitheroe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
York House B&B
Save
You added York House B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   York Street, Clitheroe BB7 2DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best stays that I have ever experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I booked a room that cost 35 quids (inclusive of breakfast). Upon arriving, the area leading to the room, including the stairs, looked amazing and really homely. The room was decorated really beautifully and huge, not to forget that the room was definitely clean and quiet; the toilet is definitely an above average one (better than some of those that you get in 4 star hotels) and everything in there, including the heater, was working. The male owner, Howard, is a very friendly and polite gentleman; after explaining how the equipment (such as the TV, water heater etc.) works, he asked our preference for breakfast and on the next day, served a delightful one. He knows the area very well and recommended us a few places for us to explore.

On the whole, a delightful stay and a much pleasant surprise. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: The room down the stairs on the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I called to enquire about availability, and received the voicemail message not to leave a message, but to call either of two mobile numbers for a 'prompt' response. I left a message on one of the mobile phones and unfortunately didn't receive any response! A real shame as the B&B looks nice and was convenient for us, but we won't be trying this one again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have now stayed twice at York House when visiting family in Clitheroe and both stays have been superb, with a large comfortable room in a house full of character. The owner is friendly and very knowledgable about the area, and the cooked breakfasts are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed in York House on many occasions and can not fault the excellent service here. The rooms are larger than average, very clean, very quiet and an excellent breakfast is served in the sun room every day. Give it a try

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We arrived in Clitheroe without anywhere to stay - the Tourist Info. shop recommended York House to us. So glad that they did. It was wonderful - the room was excellent & we had the best sleep we've ever had away from home. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to perfection. On arrival, Howard (the owner) had actually asked us what time we would like breakfast!
The location was brilliant. Everything about our (too) short stay was first class.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed just one night whilst visiting to catch a show by Glenn Tillbrook in the theatre right next door. If you haven't been to Clitheroe, as we hadn't, you are in for a very, very pleasant surprise!
The town is very picturesque and York House is centrally placed and stands out as a special building of historic note.
The owners were so pleasant and accommodating and made us feel instantly at home. The property has a separate entrance to allow you to come and go independently of the owners and has street parking available right in front, with some time restrictions.
The ensuite room was very spacious and had all you would need for a restful stay. The dining area has a light and contemporary feel with large windows/patio overlooking a walled garden.
We stayed as long as we could and followed the owner's recommendation to dine at the Emporium. This is a restaurant/pub/cafe/furniture boutique all in one. It is one of the most fascinating places I have ever dined in. We shopped, and shopped, toured the castle and enjoyed the views around the valley.
It is just over an hours drive from our home town of Chester and if there are any other shows on there again I would not hesitate in making the trip and booking the York House again.

Room Tip: Our room was adjacent to the dining area/rear entrance. This was very convenient and suited us. Mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed one night after seeing a livewire acdc tribute band at The Grand. Lovely big double bedroom. Breakfast was excellent and the owner is friendly without being overbearing. Parking is on the road immediately outside or a few minutes walk down the road and is free between 7pm and 9am.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to York House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House B&B

Address: York Street, Clitheroe BB7 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — York House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
York House B&B Clitheroe, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.