We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply stunning setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitton Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mitton Hall to your Saves list
Mitton Hall
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Near Whalley | Mitton Road, Clitheroe BB7 9PQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A simply stunning setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Last week we fancied an overnight break and have always loved the Ribble Valley area, and the Mitton Hall had a good dinner, bed and breakfast deal on so off we went. Mitton Hall is a lovely Tudor building which has been beautifully and sympathetically restored and the views are truly magnificent.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Ribble Suite which was fabulous with lots of lovely touches, someone has put a lot of thought and time into the decoration of this hotel. Dinner was excellent, the service both attentive and friendly and even included a glass of Champagne! We finished off our pleasant evening with a coffee and brandy by a roaring fire in the great hall, perfect! All in all a a wonderful break and we shall certainly go back in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    53
    28
    14
    12
See reviews for
50
97
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went for lunch which was excellent. Fantastic old hall full of character. Very well presented as were the staff. Ordered food from the bar menu which was of a high standard and good sized portions. Had a look around some of the building and gardens. The staff were very pleasant and made time for a brief chat. All in all a great lunch in superb surroundings. Will definitely be returning. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thought we d try afternoon tea in what is a lovely location. Things started well with attentive maitre d offering us a choice of tables but went downhill quickly afterwards.
Twenty minutes before we were served. The staff appeared flustered and engaged with each other. The toilets were dirty with the bin overflowing , and filth on the floor. The food was ok but nothing special. Our waitress to her credit apologised afterwards saying that things had been hectic but that should be expected. It is such a shame because this a beautiful venue but sadly let down by sloppy service and standards.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here on recommendation of Company I was visiting, the rooms are tiny not even place to swing a cat, no phones so one has to walk to reception which is nearly like a labrynth (!) to get there and then they can help you .....I asked for a plug adaptor only to be told that guest a few weeks ago took it with them! The breakfast is good and so was the dinner other than that its not worth staying here unless its the last place in Clitheroe and an overniter only

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Mitt on hall is a great hotel , beautiful location in the forest of bowland , we use this hotel for staff to stay at because of the food and the rooms ,
Always clean , spacious and the restaurant is very very good , the bar area is a great place to relax and beautiful when the weather warms up sitting outside at the back looking over the river rubble ,
No hesitation in recommending this location ,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I don't like posting bad reviews. It's rare I do. Stayed here in February for a romantic two days. First the rooms - very very small. No room to swing a kitten, let alone a cat. Then the noise. They seem to have weddings every day and the noise coming into the room was incredible. We were awake both nights until past 1.30am.

Definitely not a place for people to stay unless they're lucky enough to be part of the wedding.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms above the function suite. The sound proofing is so bad I could hear every word of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed on February 8th 2013 and again the standard of service and the attention to detail were first class. The staff were friendly, professional and in complete control of the guests needs. Nothing was too much trouble, which is incredibly reassuring when we had our 7 month old with us. The king suite was exquisite as was my mother in laws suite. There is real character in these rooms and anyone who appreciates the quintessential touches that old houses possess will really warm to the decor. The evening meal was excellent and the whole stay had the stamp of quality that we have come to expect at MItton Hall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitton Hall

Address: Near Whalley | Mitton Road, Clitheroe BB7 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star country house hotel providing luxury accommodation at the heart of the fabulous Ribble Valley. Our big idea for bringing this magnificent 15th Century manor house back to life was to take it back to its roots and make it feel like a home again. Somewhere that looks and feels like it belongs to somebody. Stunning interior design and decoration perfectly complement the ancient architectural features to create a contemporary country house hotel. Both effortlessly beautiful and unashamedly romantic. The ambience is quite unique. It is certainly luxurious and feels exclusive but the luxury and exclusivity are open to all. From a relaxing morning coffee or afternoon tea, to lunch or dinner and for everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mitton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitton Hall Hotel Clitheroe
Mitton Hall Clitheroe, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.