We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Maple Lodge to your Saves list
The Maple Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Blackburn Road | Clayton-le-Moors, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I booked into the Maple Lodge as we were attending a function at the dunkenhalgh but wanted a more cost friendly place to stay. The Maple Lodge ws perfect at only £62 for the night it was £40 cheaper than the rooms available down the road. Phillip the owner, accommodated our early check in request at no extra cost and greeted us on arrival. Our room was lovely, surprisingly spacious and beautifully decorated. The triple glazed windows meant we couldn't hear any of the traffic passing on the road which was great. Phillip is very friendly and can't do enough for you. He very kindly ordered a taxi for us and when we were ready he took some pictures for us before we left. The following morning we were treated to a lovely fresh cooked breakfast, compliments to the chef! We will definitely stay at the Maple Lodge again and can't recommend it highly enough for those attending functions down the road but looking for a great rate and value for money. Thank you Phillip. Rachael and Chris

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    33
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
23
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was the ideal location for me. Clean, well equipped room, and a good breakfast with a welcoming host. I shall certainly try to book again next time I come to visit. I'm only sorry that I didn't discover it for my previous visits to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A very good hotel, Phillip was both extremely helpful and friendly and made me very welcome. Room a very good size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast excellent. Location superb for commuting to local towns. Will definitely stay again when next in the area.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a very good size and has a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Amost enjoyable stay.meals were excellent.the rooms were very clean and cleaned every day.looked after very well no complaints at all.parking at rear and on street.short walk to the ppub and near by restarants

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here through work for a couple of weeks and found the place very clean and tidy. The good points were; service was very nice. Breakfast was good, hot, big & tasty. The rooms were kept neat and tidy. The only bad point for me was that the main road was always busy & noisy and the room I stayed in had a massive jacuzzi that was a struggle to climb in and out of of. I would recomend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Maple Lodge was an excellent base for visiting relatives in Accrington. An added bonus involved being only 50 metres from the Leeds to Liverpool Canal with interesting walks in the countryside past ruined Victorian cotton mills. Also well-placed to visit local attractions such as Hoghton Tower, Gawthorpe Hall, Towneley Park, and Haworth House with its extensive collection of Tiffany glass. Because we asked for the quietest room, our room was quite tight but comfortable. We noted there were bigger rooms closer to the road. As it turned out, because Maple Lodge was Georgian (18th century), the walls were very thick and road noise was not a significant problem. On-site parking was reasonably cramped, however, this was exacerbated by our renting of an estate car (station wagon). Breakfast was good with the only minor problem being the bacon was not at all crisp. Philip was friendly and helpful, although not very knowledgeable about local history or atractions. Maple Lodge seemed popular with business travellers which suggests a good, relable standard. The stairs to the second floor are quite narrow with heavy luggage but fine, if you are relatively fit. The entry is very compact and works best if you prop both the the outer and inner doors open before attempting to enter with bulky luggage. We would happily stay again, although we would probably opt for a bigger room.

Room Tip: Room on right-side of second floor is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Two adults and two children (age 9 and 14) came up for the clash between Accrington Stanley and Oxford United in tne second round of the FA Cup. We were made to feel welcome immediately. Found a fantastic Indian restaurant just around the corner (Balti Stan). The room was clean and the beds very comfortable! There were 15 DVDs in the room to choose from ranging from Us - 15s. Although on a main road, it was not obvious - Very quiet rooms. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of hot and cold options. We would definitely stay here again, and hope to do so for the next clash which lookes like our last game of the season!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maple Lodge

Address: 70 Blackburn Road | Clayton-le-Moors, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maple Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Q BOOK PARTNERS AND VAT registered.The 4* Guest House accommodation, friendly atmosphere and personal service will make your stay one to be remembered. We offer Bed and Breakfast services seven days a week. The house was built in the early 1700's and retains many of the original features. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, a breakfast/dinning room, reception, and a wood panelled residents lounge with a licensed bar providing the perfect environment in which to relax after a busy day. At the rear of The Maple Lodge is our private car park with 24 hour cctv coverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Clayton Le Moors
The Maple Lodge Clayton Le Moors, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.