We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bay City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Very old hotel with bad food, especially the breakfast is overpriced (only had a cup of coffee one morning and insisted on charging us 9 pounds for having the full breakfast). Room was 5-10min walk away from reception, no one offered to show us the way or help us with our bags despite poor signage on how to get to the end of the world. It also meant walking through a reception hall that was used for weddings, in total we walked through 3 peoples random weddings. In summary stay somewhere else if you have an option.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. If you'd like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    285
    176
    102
    64
See reviews for
166
278
34
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Been staying here for 6 years and frankly it's now looking tired. Arrived Friday checked in and out of room 18 ;noise level from aircon system outside was terrible and room was musty. Offered room 40 ,but over our two night stay we put up with a smell like dirty dishcloths , pinmould in the wardrobe cupboard, black mould on the tatty net curtains , evidence of removed mould on the curtains and on further inspection some damage and smell coming from the stained carpet by the window. On returning home we have washed all our clothes as they are tainted by the smell.
We suggested to the receptionist at check-out that this room should be withdrawn until these issues are resolved.
Dunkenhalgh has been our favourite shortbreak and family celebration celebration getaway but this experience was very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriouosness and am investigating the matter further. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We booked an executive room for one night and we were not disappionted. The room was very clean and a good size, exactly what we expected. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This was my 3rd visit to the hotel but the 1st time for my friends. We arrived early but were given our rooms straight away in the courtyard which is where I prefer to stay.
We had a treatment each booked and went straight to this and then into the pool/spa area where we could relax after a long drive.
We didn't use the bar/dining room so cannot comment on this but there was a reasonable pub 10 min walk away. The 2nd day was spent shopping and then back to the spa.
We had no problems with the room - the only issue was the noise from one of the guests on the 2nd night and fighting. This wasn't the hotels fault, just one of those things that happens but it didn't spoil anything.
I noticed there had been a bit of re-decoration in the pool area since I was last there which had freshened things up a bit - always nice to see improvements.
Overall a great visit again to this hotel and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am please that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed for one night before travelling to a wedding. When we drove up the drive the first impression was great, a hotel that looked a bit like a castle, impressive. I had booked through Expedia on a B&B rate, when we checked in we were told it was room only - fortunately I had my booking confirmation with me. They then agreed and amended our booking and gave us our room key, it turned out that our room was quite a long walk from reception, as we'd had a 5 hour drive we were glad to open the door and find a large spacious room with sofa and chairs etc. However my husband went to open the window and found that one of them had no handle on it at all so could not be closed properly (we were planning to go out for dinner so not secure) and the other window the handle was broken. I rang reception and they sent someone with a new room key and moved us into a similar room which was fine. All in all from the time we arrived it took over half an hour to actually be in the room. By this point we were hungry and tired so decided to go for a quick drink at the hotel bar and then for dinner in the restaurant. The bar was randomly staffed, half the time there was no-one there serving, when we got our drinks we then went for dinner which although a little pricey was nice and no more expensive than most hotels. We did notice that every other table were given bread at the start of their meal but we weren't, by the time we'd noticed it wasn't worth requesting any. Breakfast the next day was cooked to order plus all of the usual buffet items. We did use the gym at the hotel which I think is actually a leisure club that the public use, it was very well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your next stay in the future. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

A very good hotel for business stay, clean, efficient service and good value. Must have a car or take a taxi for going into town centre though. No convenience stores or eateries nearby but overall certainly would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.