We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whittle-le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went for afternoon tea with friends on Sunday. We went on a deal with Livingsocial . Was a little disappointed with the size of the cakes though. Scones were very small but saying that they tasted lovely. This is a beautiful Hotel and Restaurant not that expensive too. Worth checking it out

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawHill, Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Our afternoon teas are traditionally delciate mouthfulls of home made cakes. Should you have required further cakes we would of happily provided extra servings upon request.

We do hope that you will return to Shaw hill in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    54
    26
    20
    7
See reviews for
30
34
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Shaw Hill 8th February overnight. We were attending a birthday celebration dinner at the hotel. We found everything to be first rate. We dined in the Stanley Suite (seated 30 guests comfortably) and had the exclusive use of the Gold Suite for the evening - wonderful. The food was extremely good and the service was excellent. A perfect evening in a lovely setting. As guests we also made us of the leisure facilities. The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly, showing around. The facilities were clean and the pool was a nice temperature. Our full English breakfast on Sunday was very satisfying, the restaurant has a lovely ambiance and we left the hotel having had a really pleasant weekend. We would certainly recommend it as a function venue as the staff couldn't do enough for us. Food first rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in January. We checked in as a very last minute requirement and the staff were very friendly.

The first downfall was we had a large suitcase as we were staying 5 nights and my husband had to carry it up the (beautiful) staircase and along various corridors to get to our room. As this is a listed building, there are no lifts.

We had a suite and it was very nice. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the best 5 nights sleep for a long time. The bath and shower needed a little maintenance. Looked a bit shabby.

It was very cold in our room. Every time we wanted to go to our room before the evening (when the heating was turned in), we had to ask the staff to put the heating on. This did get a little embarrassing and so when were where around, we spend our time in the bar or the lounge by the open fire, which was lovely.

The food in this hotel is, in word one, amazing. We had a wonderful three course meal and it was absolutely incredible.

We would stay again, but maybe only when it is warmer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

OMG this place is filthy dirty and obviously could do with employing cleaners. The rooms are tired but that is no excuse for disgusting cleanliness. Electrics quite frankly are a hazard. I cannot believe this place charges as much as it does. Will not be staying here again

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
As you can image we are also very upset with what you have discribed as a disgusting room. We are currently revamping the rooms and it would hlep me greatly to ascertian which room you stayed in. For three reasons - 1 to ensure that it is on our revamp programme. 2- the electrics? 3- Cleanliness.
I can only apologise that you did not mention this on checking into your room as I am sure the hotel receptionsit would have gladly changed the room for you. It is very oftern difficult to react to your request after the fact. I do trusst that you do get in touch so that i can reslove this for future guests. My email is joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk. Thank you and I await your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My party of 6 booked the New Year Ball and Accommodation for December 2013. (The cheaper package). What a great event. Staff were Friendly, Helpful anf Caring throughout the Hotel. Food was lovely and served quickly with a welcome pause in between courses. Disco was well attended and well utilised. Found it easy to make friends. The Residents Bar was most accommodating after the New Year Celebrations, where we made more friends. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and everything worked. Would definitely book again. Ideal venue for all types of functions. Give it a go.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to outline your requirements. The staff go out of their way to accommodate where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

just had a work reunion at the restaurant and the food was just average. Edible but definitely not memorable. The puddings were the best course. Don't think we will return even tho' the price was reasonable

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations whilst dining here. For me to understand what was wrong with the 'average meal' please could you explain how we went wrong? Could you tell me the date you came and the name of the party and what was ordered?. Once I have more specific details I will be able to comment further. I am however pleased you enjoyed the pudding. My email is joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk. I wait your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I visited Shaw Hill, (where I am a Leisure Club member) We had been here before, and were not disappointed on this occasion. Excellent service. Friendly yet efficient. Portions good and pudds lovely Think Shaw Hill is probably better when not under pressure (eg Christmas) but this is not unusual in restaurants. Have never had a poor meal here, but then have never visited at a known busy period.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Whittle-le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.