We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top grub ,super beer ,fantastic landlord” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
369 Blackburn Road | Higher Wheelton, Chorley PR6 8HP, England
+44 1254 832681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 145 Restaurants in Chorley
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top grub ,super beer ,fantastic landlord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Having recently moved to the area we have now been here 3 times.

On every visit we have been looked after by probably the best landlord we have come across.Super freindly and has a real flare for customer service.

Top class real ales .

The food is real home cooked and delisious ,from game pie to fish and chips and my fave liver and Onions ,what more could you want.

I would recommend anyone to try it ,7 of us there on sat night ,3 starters ,7 mains ,drinks all for under £100 brilliant!!

see you again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dazcooper8, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are very happy to hear all forms of feedback but positive ones make it worth while. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your next visit in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good pub grub & beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A friendly pub that deserves to do well. A well kept pint followed by a good, straightforward menu.

The food was well presented and plentifull and my wife and i had a good evening.

We'll go again- good luck to you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dazcooper8, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the pub, thank you for your review and we all look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great home coocked food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've had the pleasure of eating at the Golden Lion a couple of times since the new management took over and I have to say its good honest pub grub at very reasonable prices.
Out for lunch over the Christmas period our group had Cheese and onion pie (Homemade) Chicken and mushroom pie (Homemade) chicken poussin and stuffed pork with a Brandy sauce with drinks and coffee, the bill came to just over £50, exceptional value to say nothing comes pre-cooked on the back of a lorry.

We’ll certainly be back in the new year, keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dazcooper8, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you all enjoyed your visit with us over the festive period, looking forward to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good beer and food at the Golden Lion wheelton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

A warm welcoming pub that has a good selection of Thwaites ales. In particular the Lancaster bomber ale was served very well. The food menu has a good selection all at a reasonable price. I had a delicious bacon and cheese burger that came served in a fresh ciabatta roll with chunky chips, home made burger relish and a side salad.
The pub is in an ideal location for a walk along the Leeds-Liverpool canal and also lies on a regular Blackburn to Chorley bus route.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dazcooper8, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at the pub looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I had an evening meal here on the 16th of November. It was well presented, well cooked and extremely delicious. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The real ales on tap were well looked after too. The pub has a cosy village atmosphere and the locals seem to be enjoying their local community pub. When we return to this area again we shall certainly return for another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dazcooper8, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at the lion with us. Hope to see you when you are in the area next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.