We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the family favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Browns fish and chips

Browns fish and chips
33 Parker Street, Chorley PR7 1ES, England
01257 263426
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 146 Restaurants in Chorley
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always the family favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My family have been coming to this chippy for years. They are generous and the food is always great. My favourite is pudding, peas, chips and gravy. The fish is great too and they do a smaller piece at lunch time. Lightly battered is great too. Love it

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Chippy In Chorley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We go to this chippy all the time living on Buckshaw.
Fish are usually large and freshly cooked.
Chips are proper chippy chips cooked from fresh potato not frozen!
Peas are traditional mushy peas & very tasty.
Partner loves the pies from here.
Never had a bad meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“last min choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hot, tasty and very good value for money. Quick and efficient service. Obviously very popular, so parking may be an issue but I was lucky.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“What an amazing find, In a Town full of hype, This is the real Mc Coy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We Visited Chorley several weeks ago, and J Seas came out tops, So we went there,
What a Disappointment
This Time, we just asked the locals, and were directed down a side street, Where we found a small anonymous looking Chippie., Called BROWNS.
Nice friendly staff, Then i saw raw potatoes going into a chipper, and i thought well at least they make their own chips, so might be good.
Our large Haddock and chips+ Drink, came to just £6 + Cheapest we have had in a long time.
Anyway we were looking forward to this meal, and everything was as good as it gets.
Chips 10/10 Fish super tasty,Batter excellent, So good, that i had to pop in and compliment the staff.
Sometimes finding the unknown, is priceless. This was one of those moments
Thanks guys, a genuine, No bull chippie

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns fish and chips also viewed

 

Been to Browns fish and chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns fish and chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.