We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a pub, not a restaurant...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds Abbey Village

Hare and Hounds Abbey Village
Bolton Road | Abbey Village, Chorley PR6 8DP, England
+44 1254 832290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 146 Restaurants in Chorley
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: German, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Hare and Hounds in Abbey Village is a family runned pub. We serve german and english food. Dogs are welcome
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“If you want a pub, not a restaurant...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I wanted to walk the dogs for a couple of hours, and then have a good lunch on a Sunday. The Hare and Hounds gave us all that. I cannot give it an excellent, because it does not aspire to that!
My steak pie was filling and came promptly. The Black Sheep was well kept and did NOT cost £4.00 per pint. The staff were helpful and cheerful, and accommodated my wife's need for extra sugar with her tea.
I am sorry to read such extreme poor reports; perhaps the authors were unlucky, or had unrealistic expectations. If you are on foot or driving to walk, and then want to be fed and watered, do not be put off by the adverse reports.
I paid £21.00 for 2 main courses, 2 pints, and 2 pots of tea - good value

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penwortham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Lancashire Dotcom Walkers heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We wanted to celebrate 27th November Lancashire Day with a Lancashire hot pot following our walk in the vicinity. I don't know if hot pot was on the menu but Alan the landlord was more than willing to meet our request. The result was an excellent time had by all. Food and drink were of a very high quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dog Walkers' Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely traditional pub where people and their four-legged canine friends are made very welcome indeed. Luckily, it resides just next to some fabulous walks, and there are definitely worse ways to spend a leisurely Sunday than a long hike with your pooch followed by a lovely lunch. The food is good value, enough choice, a couple of veggie options. All home cooked, fresh, and served in a reasonable amount of time. Drinks-wise there's all the usual pub stuff on offer, as well as a couple of real ales, if you're that way inclined. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value Great Food Great Atmosphere Rubbish Weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Called in here after a stroll around the reservoirs. The pub was lovely and warm and suprisingly busy considering the weather i had a Cocker Hoop which i must say was kept to perfection and the wife a Black Sheep again on fine form. We ordered the steak which was cooked exactly to our specification, the staff were polite and attentive and the atmosphere ambient with some great music being played from the duke box.The bill was well worth the visit and we will certainly be calling in again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“£41 pounds thrown down the drain at this place !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Been to this pub before the original tennant left and the food was good been to it this week with the new guy oh the food was microwaved tinned food and very very poor quality. The atmosphere was like a grave yard the owner forgot a man and lady that was at the side of use I got a horrible dianne sauce with my veg dinner as no vegitarian gravy. we thought the dessert would be better as we hadnt eaten any of the main it was warm microwave pudd with boiling hot microwaved custard !!! The drinks are also £4 pounds a pint a little over the top I would say the wife who is also a bar maid doesnt even smile seriously get this pair out of this nice pub before it shuts for ever.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds Abbey Village also viewed

Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 
Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Hare and Hounds Abbey Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds Abbey Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.