We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Hall Road | Charnock Richard, Chorley PR7 5LP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sorry to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for the last 3 months whilst working in the area. Due to the nature of my job I do spend long periods of time away from home and staying in hotels and I have to say that the service, facilities, food and staff have been excellent, nothing is too much trouble. After a hard day in the office, it's great to relax with a glass of wine on the terrace. I will be returning. with my family this time, for a short break at Christmas.

Room Tip: Access direct off the M6 via Charnock Richard Services
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    162
    100
    66
    43
See reviews for
176
74
10
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The only way I can describe this place is STRANGE! It's really, really dated. We stayed in the 'holiday village & the room was damp, spidery, stank of old feet, was really in need of a refurbishment, and what is the point of the blue light bulb in the bathroom? It reeked havoc with my epilepsy! The breakfast was mediocre, the breakfast service was in complete disarray (we were ignored and had to ask several times for a tea & coffee). The 'spa' was ok, but looked like it needed a good scrub, and the hotel hadn't provided them with enough towels so we had to use the ones in our rooms. On the plus side the hotel front-of-house staff were pleasant & the jacuzzi was relaxing, even if it did need a good clean!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We were allocated room 9B in the 'village'. We were given and map and directions to a car park which is very dark and badly lit. We were expecting a hotel room and were given what I can only describe as a substandard run down Butlins style chalet. The room was old, smelt musty and had mould in the bathroom. The double bed was a fold down bed that was stored in a cupboard! The shower didn't work so we decided we had to move and were given another room in the village 5B which was even worse. The carpet was stained, the wallpaper ripped, the sheet were musty smelling and the shower was an old eighties style electric shower than can be best described as a drip. We were too tired to change rooms again that night so put up with it. We complained the next morning and demanded a room in the main building. We were told we would have to pay £47 extra. I spoke to the duty manager and he waived the fee. The rooms in the main building are much better but could do with being refurbished and modernised although after where we stayed the night before it was luxury! It was a real shame as the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has a good atmosphere. The bar prices are reasonable compared to other hotels. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice although on the 2nd morning we did have to queue for 10 mins for the buffet. The staff try their best, they were all friendly and helpful. The leisure club is good, the pool very warm, great for kids. Overall though the trip was spoilt but our first night experience. Be very careful if you book this hotel and make sure you are in the main building!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a room only basis with my husband and daughter. Very warm welcome at reception. Room close to car park. We stayed in a chalet. Some other reviews are negative but we had a positive experience. The room was large and had tea and coffee facilities. Only negative was that more attention could have been paid to cleaning the bathroom. We reported.this when we left and they apologised. The leisure centre was a little tired but clean. We had a good swim and Jacuzzi session. We thought the place was charming and offered great value for money! Loved the haunted theme park next to the hotel too. Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thankyou for your your wonderful review I will hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent one night at Park Hall in October while attending a function locally (not at the hotel).

The hotel does the job. It has a bar, a bed (not particularly comfortable), restaurant and most of what you would expect. It is enough. A shelter not a luxury.

We found the pillows and the bed to be uncomfortable but good enough. The shower was weak. The toiletries were average. There was no bottled water in the room but there was tea and coffee making facilities.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast which was simply not good enough. The rooms were disorganised and littered with uncleared tables, there were no bowls for cereal unless you asked, coffee was hard to come by, the toast was limp and cold. One of our party had the cooked breakfast which was served rather than being self service which would have been so much quicker and more efficient in terms of the staff time which could have been used to otherwise clear and replenish.

Overall the school report for this hotel is satisfactory but could do better.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed for one night while attending a course. The general facilities were good and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The room I had was more than tired and had a smell of 'sweaty feet'! The bathroom also left a bit to be desired! Glad I wasn't paying for the room!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Park Hall Road | Charnock Richard, Chorley PR7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chorley Best Western
Best Western Chorley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.