We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rocca

La Rocca
77 Water Street, Chorley PR7 1EX, England
01257 249400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 145 Restaurants in Chorley
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

When you have a fantastic experience during the first time to a restaurant it's odds on you can never replicate it. How wrong you can be?
It's intimate atmosphere and genuine Italian food is a fantastic blend. If you have a fear of offal, and moving out of a comfort zone, worry not as the spicy chicken livers are astonishing!
With the wine flowing in authentic surroundings, no complaints, fantastic food our night just flew by! The Chicken Caccatori was superb as was the service, followed by a complimentary Limonchello rounded off the meal with a knowledge you'll be back soon!
A real taste of Italy in Chorley? You bet!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fantastic food, I only had the chicken livers and Pizza and my partener had the Ribs and spicy garlic bread but it was all perfect and the best livers I have tasted, highly recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply stunning Italian food - better than San Marcos, Dantes and Ital cottage etc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have driven by La Rocca so many times and ignored it - more fool me! Had 2 visits and know I will not stop going back. Almost worth considering moving to Chorley for. Best spare ribs I have eaten at any Italian and the Piccante garlic breads (and pizzas my friends advised) are scha-mazing. Partner had livers and loved them - high accolade from him. I dream about the ribs. Went with work friends a month ago and one of the girls opted for pasta and declared it the best ever and she NEVER polishes off her plate. Must try a chicken dish next time though truly cannot wait to return will recommend you to all - belissimo and asta la vista, La Rocca x

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best freshest food in town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Love this restaurant!! Moved into the area last year and since then we have been to la rocca so many times - had girlie nights and family nights there. Staff are very attentive, food is delicious - so much choice!! Tried many dishes all perfect so far! Sit upstairs for more atmosphere - nice......

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decidedly Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We went here for a quick evening meal after reading reviews. It's a rather casual restaurant with a good selection of Italian dishes. The meal was no better or worse than other local Italian restaurant and I would not rave over Ny aspect of the experience. We had stuffed mushrooms to start with a pizza to share for main, interestingly they offer the option of paying extra per inch over the average pizza. We enquired how large the average pizza was as it wasn't on the menu, it was 13inches, so we asked for a 16 inch for both of us and were informed they only went up to 14 inches, which all seemed a little nonsensical?

The service was slow and unprofessional with drinks glasses placed on the incorrect side of the plates and the meal served in a haphazard manner, however the staff were clearly young and inexperienced.

For a quick, pleasant everyday meal, (think pizza hut) it's good, for a more sophisticated dining experience, I would suggest somewhere a little more refined.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rocca also viewed

Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to La Rocca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rocca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.