We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Charnock Richard M6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Charnock Richard M6 to your Saves list
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jct 27-28 M6 Northbound Mill Ln, Chorley PR7 5LR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Enville DY7 5HA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Big rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

two weeks agio we booked into Days inn via the internet and recieved a confirmation price of £35 on arrival we were told£45 when I said we had aconfirmed booking of £35 the receptionist told me that as they sell the rooms the price rises heaven help the chap that books room 50 how much will he be charged this is most unfair and we will never book in there again.
WATCH OUT YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Days Inn Charnock Richard M6, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with ourselves, I would like to confirm I have investigated the concerns you had regarding being overcharged for your room, and have come to find that you were charged £34.95 for your room, and the additional charges were for the breakfast which you had, making the total charged on check in £45.70.

I apologise for any confusion on this matter, as here at Days Inn Charnock Richard we aim to ensure all our guests are 100% happy with their stay and if you have any further queries, or would like to discuss this further, please contact one of the team direct on 01257 791746.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    97
    86
    36
    36
See reviews for
107
95
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Dreadful - took dog as allowed but then told I had to have basic room - at back of hotel (really helpful with a dog needing to go out). You could stain peas through the thin duvet and 1950's bathroom. For the same price on the way back I had an amazing BB. DON'T GO HERE JUST BECAUSE IT'S CLOSE. IT'S AWFUL.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Days Inn Charnock Richard M6, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
First of all I would like to apologise you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. We always aim ensure our guests experience the best service and enjoy their stay with us.

We pride ourselves in being a pet-friendly hotel, however we do not allow pets in our executive rooms, only in our standard rooms. I apologise that this was not made clear at the time of booking and I will speak with the reception team to make sure we are clear with guests bringing pets.

We try to ensure that all of our rooms are regularly maintained to offer the best comfort. I have spoken with Housekeeping in regards to the duvets so that we can investigate and bring it back up to the high standards we strive to provide.

Again I apologise you did not fully enjoy your stay and hope we will get an opportunity to accommodate you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've stayed here twice now. It's really handy for the M6 as it's just off the road. It's comfortable, clean and tidy and when we visited the staff were really nice and really helpful too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickmansworth
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

had to travel to chorley for an early morning appointment , after trawling internet found this place.

its basic, but very clean, and welcoming (could teach a few places i know a thing or two)
bed was comfortable, shower worked, rooms still have biscuits in !!

great value , and puts travel lodges to shame

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Arrived late at night after a long journey and was made to feel very welcome. The room was very clean throughout, maybe the furnishings were quite old, but the room had all we needed including free WiFi TV and tea/coffe making facilities. Bedding and towels were fresh and clean. Bed very comfortable.
The Motel had the feel of an American motel from the 60s a nice change from the norm.
All in all excellent value ideal for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

great value seeing astheres free wi fi and free parking boh in the city would cost about a tenner each, we paid extra £5 for an Exec room which was spotles with a fridge and iron and coffee machine, I think they have different levels of rooms so check what your booking, seems you get what you pay for, breakfats was great value and plenty of it and also had a nice drink in the bar (dont usually see motorwy hotels with a bar - nice suprise) its is a budget travel hotel so think some commenst dont reflec on this, here plent of 4 / 5 star hotels at double the rate if thats your thing. Id be happy to stay here again. as ahalf way point to Glasgow its ideal

Room Tip: ask for an inside room they are a fiver more but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I honestly cannot believe that companies are still allowed to sell this type of accommodation and get away with it. Arrived late at night, and was advised that a budget room of £40 was available for my wife and I. We were attending a funeral the following day, and were just relieved to have found availability. In hindsight we would have got more sleep if we had slept in the car. The shower dripped all night as did the sink, both of which were rusty and foul smelling, and the bathroom door did not close so we had to endure the dripping all night, but it was at approximately 5am when the real fun began - the central heating system kicked in and the noise was incredible. We couldn't get back to sleep - had to attend the funeral absolutely exhausted, and then make the long tiring journey back to Scotland, feeling less than refreshed. My initial response received when I raised my issues, was that someone had spent the previous night in that room without any problems, and then the Manageress' response was, that it was a budget room and therefore not refurbished. She offered me a £10 voucher off our next stay, but I will honestly never ever, stay at a Days Inn hotel again. The decor was (in my opinion) like something out of a seventies horror film, the towels and bedding smelt stale - this isn't an experience I would care to repeat, I wondered if the room had been used to accommodate dogs? it certainly smelt like it had - It shall be Premier Inn or even Travelodge in future for us. We will avoid days inn at all costs in future.

Room Tip: Keep going north on the M6 and leave at junction 31a, you will find a premier inn there, where you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, General Manager at Days Inn Charnock Richard M6, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback, the room in question is not one of our Days Inn rooms I am sincerely sorry if this was not explained fully on check in. These particular rooms are usually sold as last available rooms and to walk in guests only, as they are in need of refurbishment. We normally ask guests to view these un-refurbished rooms before use so that they can make an informed choice. Please feel assured that we would have been more than happy to move you, should you have expressed any concerns to our 24 hour Reception team. Once again I apoligise you were less that satisfied with your stay with us and hope we get the opportunity to see you again at Days Inn Charnock Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Charnock Richard M6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charnock Richard M6

Address: Jct 27-28 M6 Northbound Mill Ln, Chorley PR7 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Charnock Richard M6 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90 bedroomed Hotel 5 minutes walk from Camelot Theme Park. Ideal stop off on M6 Motorway. All rooms are en suite with Flat screen FREVIEW TV's, FREE WI-FI, hot drink- making facilities, trouser press and hairdryer. Family rooms consist of 1 double and 1 single bed with a small pull out for under 8 years this room can sleep up to 2 adults and 2 children under 12. Standard double and Executive rooms are also available. We have a fully licensed restaurant and bar open 7 days. Full English or continental breakfasts are available daily in the Restaurant. The main service area adjacent boasts a variety of food outlets, including KFC, Burger King. Starbucks and a Gamezone. Shops and forecourt facilities are available 24 hours. The Hotel also has meeting/conference rooms available for both small 1-2-1 meetings up to 50 conference delegates, various buffet menu's available and room hire from as little as £35.00 per half day. FREE Car Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Charnock Richard M6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charnock Richard m6 Hotel Chorley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Charnock Richard M6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.