We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, lovely B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parr Hall Farm

Parr Hall Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chorley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parr Hall Farm
Save
You added Parr Hall Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parr Lane | Eccleston, Chorley PR7 5SL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Chorley B&B and Inns
Arbroath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great rooms, lovely B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Couldnt have asked for more. Stayed for one night with my 9 year old daughter enroute from Scotland to Warwickshire. It was very late when we pulled into the car park but was no problem for Kate who welcomed us and we thoroughly enjoyed a restful night in a spotlessly clean, up to date and spacious twin room with great ensuite facilties. Lack of full English breakfast not an issue as the delicious choice on the buffet plus fresh hot toast and tea was more than enough. Lovely hosts, very helpful and knowledgeable. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
7
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eccleston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

From making the reservation, greeting my parents and then making them comfortable, the service at Parr Hall Farm was excellent! My parents don t speak a word of English and yet they managed to communicate fine! The room was beautiful with wooden ceilings and open beams and the atmosphere welcoming! Super value for money and will definitely be recommending this lovely B&B in the future!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

There were three couples in our group. We had a confirmed booking (4 months in advance) at Trip Advisor's #1 rated B&B in Chorley which upon arrival the host indicated she had no record of our booking. Fortunately, we were able to secure three rooms at PARR HALL FARM B&B - thanks to Kate, who was in the countryside but made arrangements for us to access our rooms prior to her return to the B&B.

The rooms were spacious, clean with modern shower facilities. Although located in Chorley, the setting was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast had a good selection and was served piping hot.

We enjoyed our stay at Parr Hall Farm and we were glad that the #1 rated B&B was not available. Thanks again Kate for accommodating our last minute request.

Tip: If using a vehicle GPS, input the postal code not the address.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at Parr Hall Farm for a Saturday night in August whilst visiting family in the area. Our room was in the barn. The room was spotlessly clean, but lacked any charm or cosiness which you might expect in a converted country barn. There was nothing in the room to really differentiate it from a Travelodge.

Free WiFi was on offer, but only seemed to work in one impractical corner of the room, with no signal in the chair where you'd most likely want to make use of it, and even then kept dropping out.

Window (high up in the roof) left open in the bathroom with no way of closing it, creating a cold draft. Walls were thin. We arrived back to our room late, and could hear the next door room's TV clearly. Pillows very thin too, definitely made use of the spares in the cupboard.

Breakfast was continental in style; not a problem as such but not what you want from a 'farmhouse B&B'. We were very disappointed by the quality of some of the ingrediants used, such as cheap watery orange juice, and grey yolkless eggs. If a cold breakfast is going to be offered, it would be great to see better quality, local produce used. We really felt that a trick had been missed, with everything looking like it had come out of packets from the supermarket, rather than any thought going in to it. Defineitly items chosen for the bank balance and ease of the owners rather than the benefit of the customers stay!

Overall Parr Hall offered nothing more than a budget Travelodge and certainly lacked the charm you would expect from a farmhouse B&B charging £70 per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Looking at their leaflet, you might think this would lack the friendliness of smaller establishments.-there are 15 rooms -but you would be wrong. We rang to say that we might be late and estimated we would take another hour to get there. It took a little longer but almost exactly 60 minutes after we had rung, Kate Motley, our hostess rang back to see if we were OK. The rooms were good, clean and comfortable. (The only comment I would make in passing is that the bathroom lock had obviously been changed quite recently to a smaller one, leaving a small hole in the door. Another guest said that there was exactly the same in their room.) I see another reviewer has commented that the only cooked breakfast you could have is boiled eggs. This is true but not only are there various breakfast cereals available, there is also a selection of cold food such as salami, ham and cheese, plus toast, croissants etc with fruit juice, tea and coffee. We only stayed two nights but would happily have stayed a week. One morning we met two young Japanese salesmen there who were travelling about in this country for about a couple of months and said "This is the best place we have stayed in". The price seemed to be the average for a B&B in that area.

Room Tip: We were in the recently converted stable block or barn which was very comfortable. Judging from ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at Parr Hall Farm a while ago and ever since its been driving me MAD so have to tell the story we had booked double rooms MONTHS IN ADVANCE but when we arrived they said a wedding had booked in and there was twin rooms only left ,as we were tired from Traveling and it was late we had to suffer the twins,otherwise I should have walked away,then we find out we're not in the newly converted stable block but had second rate rooms in the old house.At breakfast (sort of)
I find out that I can have BOILED EGGS ONLY for breakfast NOT POACHED ,NOT FRIED,BUT BOILED ONLY NO SAUSAGES, NO BACON ....BOILED EGGS ONLY DAY AFTER DAY boiled eggs
ok if your staying one night only but we weren't I tried as a friendly joke one morning when asked if I wanted eggs and said yes please two poached on toast. But guess what... yep BOILED OR NOTHING tell me what's the point of having eggs if the paying customer cannot have the choice! We still laugh about the eggs I won't be going back and everytime I tell the BOILED EGGS story to colleagues they don't believe me but I have a witness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in room 8 after our wedding. We could not have asked for a better experience. The room was modern and clean with plenty of space even when crammed with bridesmaids and myself getting ready. The bed was incredibly comfy and the blackout curtains were greatly appreciated so we had a great night's sleep.

Breakfast is served quite early (8-9 on weekends) but was definitely worth getting up for. There were croissants, cereals, fruits and meats. They also provided endless tea, coffee, toast and excellent boiled eggs. At first we had been disappointed to find that they did not offer a full english breakfast but none of our party left hungry.

I cannot recommend Parr Hall Farm highly enough. Our wedding party booked out nearly the whole hotel and everyone had a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parr Hall Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parr Hall Farm

Address: Parr Lane | Eccleston, Chorley PR7 5SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parr Hall Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive well-maintained farmhouse, located in a quiet corner of the village of Eccleston, yet close to the M6, dates back to the 18th century. The majority of bedrooms are located in a sympathetic barn conversion and include luxury en suite bathrooms and lots of thoughtful extras. A comprehensive continental breakfast is included in the room price. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parr Hall Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.