We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keirby Park Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Keirby Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Keirby Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Keirby Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keirby Walk, Burnley BB11 2DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keirby Park Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Having read all the reviews before booking this, 2 out of the 37 reviews were positive, the rest said it was the worst hotel on the planet. I must disagree with this, I've stayed in worse. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Burnley. I was working in the area and arrived late with my colleague. The entrance and reception area are very spacious, with free wifi, the receptionist was very polite and helpful, we paid our £19 for our rooms, yes £19 per room. The lift was a bit shakey but managed to get to the fifth floor without breaking down. I was surprised when i opened my room door, the room was large with a bathroom, sink and toilet. No toilet paper, but i brought my own after reading the reviews, the bedding was clean, fresh towels, even a bar of soap. I must admit, I put my toolbox, chair and bag to barricade the door. The only complaint I had was the TV, 90 channels of blue screen till i managed to suss it out and got one channel, at least i was lucky as some rooms didn't have a TV as the guests kept stealing them. Would i stay again, YES, would i take my wife, No she'd kill me !!! You dont get value for money in many places these days, but this was well worth the £19

Room Tip: ask for one of the higher floors, i had a lovely view of Burnley roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    5
    3
    32
See reviews for
1
14
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We have used the keirby since it was built and since e moved away 30 years ago for visits back to burnley
The place has gone down big time but the new people are trying.

The only problem was a stranger walking into our bedroom at 2am and searching behind our television for a drug stash ?
when challenged he said he was maintenance .
A problem seems to be housing benefit lodgers ?
The price is right if it can last two years it will be ok
A good position and it needs a new lift and some money throwing at it.

Good luck keirby

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Let me tell you... this is the WORST hotel in England. The room smellt of sweat... the door lock was hanging off (i propped it closed with all my bags)... somebody tried to get in my room at 4am.... the beds were covered in stains... there was used condom packets down the side of my bed (god knows what i would have found had i looked further!) the toilet seat was hanging on by a thread.. the tiles were missing off the walls leaving gaping holes!!! the room was FREEZING there was NO hot water.. NO heating.. NO towels.... need i say more!?! SCARY and SWEATY. AVOID.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Thsi has to be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. we were charged £45 for a twin room that turned out to have no heating and NO HOT WATER. Despite promises this would be soted out when the mroning shift came on it never was. We spect a miserable cold night lying under a single balnket and sheets that had seen beeter days, Towels were clean but that is not surprising with no hot water. The room was very tatty and the window would not sut which added to the cold - the lift was something else and could have been loaned to hammer house of Horror very easily - it did not stop below floor 5 on the way up and graned and jerk while moving -DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Me and my husband planed to stay a the Keirby Hotel,as we were a atteneding a Wedding in the oaks Hotel down the road. Planing to have a bit of a drity weekend, but found the hotel room had started with out us. The room smelt of sweaty feet, the sheets had brown stains on them, the bathroom was just discusting and i did not even stay that long in the room i had seen enough, me and my husband went down and got our money back. The staff did not even argue with us, i got the impression they were ashamed of the place. We did get a lovely room in the Oaks Hotel just down the road.
take the advice from someone how knows please do not stay there you may catch something.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Unless you have very low expectations of cleanliness, customer service, comfort and noise levels do not stay at this hotel. The toilet was not even flushed when I was shown to my room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

i stayed here for two nights was a very warm welcome by the manager tina.my room was very comfortable and clean very good value for money.would go back any time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keirby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keirby Park Hotel

Address: Keirby Walk, Burnley BB11 2DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Keirby Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Keirby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keirby Park Hotel
The Keirby Park Hotel Burnley, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keirby Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.