We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Wedding setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Wedding setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I recently got married at the Higher Trapp.
Me and my bridesmaids spent the night before in the hotel and at £49.00 it was a bargain. We dined outside and found the food great the scenery beautiful and the staff pleasent.
On the day it's self i found Stuart in particular went above and beyond the call of duty for us he was very professional as well as warm and welcoming he was with us thoughout most of the day and was a saint.
The day was a dream come true in a beautiful country house setting with the champagne on ice waiting for us in the suite i thank you all.

The only complaint is the receptionist calling my father on a Saturday for everything paying in full that day as we were checking out which wouldnt have made a difference on a weekend ! quite dissapointed!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    99
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
67
100
11
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
American in the UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

My husband and I were flabbergasted at the quality of this hotel after only paying £45 a night for it! The old country house is warm and friendly and situated with a beautiful view of the Pennines. Our room was gorgeous with leather chairs and cherry wardrobes and housed a bright ensuite with amazing shower pressure! Reception was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and I recently got married at the Higher Trapp. In fact my family and I travelled up the lunchtime before and had lunch and dinner there too. The food and service, both in the restaurant and at the wedding itself was fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and professional. You do sometimes wonder with venues popular for weddings if the staff start to 'go through the motions', but we were all pleasantly surprised here. The duty/events manager, Jamie is an absolute star, who made the day, or rather the weekend unbelievably special. No chance to make us feel special was missed, right down to when we retired for the night and found two plates of snack/buffet food waiting, in case we hadn't had chance to eat during the evening!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

"Needs a facelift" referes to the lounge / bar area as well as the menu itself. Back to that in a moment. Throughout my 2 night stay the staff were welcoming and friendly. The bedroom (in the annexe accross the car park) was light, airy and very clean. The only downside was the entrance to the annexe and the inside area to the stairs smelt strongly of mould, and first impressions do tend to stick! The walk for the evening meal or breakfast is no more than 75 yards across the car park once you had ascended the steep slope from the annexe, but if you were infirm or unstable it would be very difficult indeed. Back to the bar & food - as there is no restaurant the only option is to eat in the bar area where the tables are surrounded by "lounge" type chairs which makes eating uncomfortable and awkward. This is fine if you like very informal dining but if you don't, you'll be disappointed at this hotel. The menu looked reasonable, if a little bland, but like a previous person has written, only "adequate." For those reading this from the UK, I would say "Brake Bros" know there way to Higher Trapp blindfolded. I was hungry, I ate, and was filled, but no more than that. How can there be a passion for food in the kitchen with the football blaring out from in there? I had some fish which was poached to a pulp, and the vegetables were chunks of carrots and parsnips, boiled and then I guess fried briefly. Very strange. I did also overhear someone sending back their fish & chips as the fish was still frozen (Brake Bros strikes again!) I only ate cereal for breakast but the cold buffet selection looked good. A good location, clean rooms, very friendly staff, but the lack of a proper restaurant and the food itself badly lets the place down.

  • Liked — Clean, fresh
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool Lancashire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Beautiful setting. A lovely Country House Hotel in about 4 acres of delightful gardens with scenic views of the Lancashire countryside, yet not far off the motorway. Suggest you use sat nav to find it though. The general standard is very good throughout, and the bar and adjoining "snug" is very pleasant, with views out to the Fells from the main bar. A nice terrace gives panoramic views by day and provides a smoking area which would have been heated if the gas bottles hadn't run out.

Our room (in the lodge about 200m away) was compact but contained all the usual requirements. We took a BB&Dinner package which was good value. The Dinner (Table de hote) was very good, and the Chablis and Rijoca was excellent although not cheap.

The only let down was at breakfast. Good choice on the cold table but when it came to the full English the wait was unacceptable - 45 minutes which seemed more like an early lunch by the time it arrived.

Would recommend for a week-end break. A wedding was underway whilst we were there, and it certainly would be an excellent location if you were planning tying the knot.

  • Liked — The gardens and wonderful views
  • Disliked — Slow service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

I stayed a week at the Higher Trapp hotel as part of a business group, the mainstay of many hotel's mid-week trade. The hotel is a little tricky to locate being up a lane from the village of Simonstone but the views from the hotel terrace are excellent. There are also country walks further up the lane with views of the Pendle Hills.

The hotel entrance is light and modern and the check-in service was efficient. My room was clean and tidy and well stocked with coffee, tea and biscuits. There is no mini-bar. The en-suite was a little cramped and the toilet seat impossibly flimsy, but the shower was hot and powerful. Towels were plentiful and of good quality.

Downstairs the hotel has the feel of a Gentleman's club with wood panelling extending throughout. The lobby is currently being used as a smoking and TV lounge, although the TV is far too small!

Although the menu currently features ostrich medallions and wild boar steaks, it is generally unexciting and the cooking is just adaquate. The only vegetables available in this part of Lancashire are carrots julienne, mange tout and broccoli which are served with every meal. Wine prices are a bit over the top but beer is more reasonably priced. The service in the restaurant was very good.

In the morning, breakfast is a combination of fruit juices, cereals and muesli served buffet style in the bar while the cooked breakfast is ordered at the table. As with the previous review, the bacon and sausage appear to be cooked well in advance and kept warm.

Overall I felt the hotel was OK with well-trained and courteous staff but the kitchen is either inadaquate for purpose or the staff are simply looking for an easy life, either way the food lets this place down badly!

  • Liked — Rural location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed at high trapp for one night. There is extensive building works taking place at present, although this did not disrupt. The room was clean with all you would expect although the bathroom was rarther small and cramped.The view from the room was excellent looking out over the valley. We went down to breakfast in the morning which was being served in the bar ( because of the building work in progress I presume) and smelled like you would expect it too. The buffet was not covered and three juice dispensers were all empty. The cooked breakfast looked and tasted like it had been kept warm for hours under a heat lamp.
Overall the hotel is not too bad but I would'nt want to stay for any length of time.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — The Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Address: Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Burnley
#1 Best Value Hotel in Burnley
#2 Family Hotel in Burnley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burnley
Burnley Best Western
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel Burnley, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.