We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My sister had her wedding here recently and its fair to say that it is just ideal. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and the grounds are perfect for photos or just to stroll around. The staff were always helpful and polite and nothing was to much trouble.

The wedding meal was lovely with delicious food served nice and hot. We stayed overnight and had breakfast, which again was of a very good quality and choice.

The hotel room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. Lots of little extras like pillow mist and shower caps too. Would recommend both the restaurant and hotel side to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your delightful comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel for a wedding. I am pleased you found our staff so helpful and you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I hope this means you will be back, I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    78
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
79
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a night out at the Higher Trapp Country House. Really great hotel for the money, food in the bar was really nice down to earth proper pub food we ate much too much :-)

The room was totally acceptable, nothing flash but clean and fresh. The surrounding woodland was amazing, you feel a million miles from anywhere, it was lovely. O and the breakfast!!!!!

All in all a very pleasant stay, great staff and good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, your feedback is much appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed the food in the bar, overindulgence is a necessary part of a night away! I hope this means you will return to visit us in the near future

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

we stopped here for a wedding in a family room. The room was plenty big enough with everything you need, the only problem was we were in the other building and not the hotel. The walk to the building was badly light at night and very uneven. Staff were brilliant. Pillows far to thick to sleep on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay here at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding outside, it was our first outside wedding and it couldn't have been a more beautiful day.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lovely hotel can highly recommend. We stayed for my friends wedding which she had in the new pagoda outside, everything was perfect. Great room, staff ,food, beautiful gardens.It was an amazing stay..topped off by lovely weather.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Higher Trapp and the wedding in our beautiful new Garden Pagoda. It is a pleasure to be able to pass on positive feedback. We hope you will call and see us again.

Best Wishes

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Could of been a lovely stay but due to stayin in the annexe/ building accross from hotel the walls are paper thin you are able to hear whats going on in the rooms next door we were awoken at midnight by a couple .... Say no more!!!
Evening food disappoinring, breakfast lovely

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. I have passed on your comments made about the food, to the relevant people. I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.

Warm Regards
Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Friendly and cosy hotel but you want to avoid a stay when the hotel holds a wedding party (too noisy till well after midnight) if possible. The wall of the room seemed not be thick enough and I could easily hear a talking voice in the room next to mine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to us. I have taken on board your comments regarding the walls not being thick enough and will discuss possible solutions with our maintenance team.

Thank you once again from all of our team and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at the Higher Trapp Hotel on the night of our wedding reception and I couldn't recommend it enough! The staff were brilliant, especially Maxine who co-ordinated our day from the moment we arrived fresh from our church ceremony. The food, which multiple guests commented on, was delicious both in the wedding breakfast and evening buffet. The rooms were immaculate and I had a much needed good night's sleep after a busy day - having not slept a wink the night before my wedding! A number of our guests also spent the night and were incredibly impressed with the hotel. The full English and continental breakfasts also went down a treat the following morning. The perfect place for our perfect day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your wedding here at the Higher Trapp Hotel. I am delighted we were able to provide you with an amazing wedding day. We pride ourselves on making sure everything is perfect and your feedback is much appreciated.

Thank you once again

Warm Regards
Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Address: Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burnley
Burnley Best Western
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel Burnley, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.