We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Staffs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night and have to say the main reception area, bar, lounge and communal areas were really quite beautiful as they were part of the old house. We found our room to be clean, spacious and adequate for our stay and we considered it to be value for money for the price we paid, which we think is important to remember when submitting a review, and based on this, would rate the hotel a little higher than 'average'. Some of the rooms are quite a 'treck' with stairs, so it may not be suitable for people with mobility difficulties. Breakfast was fine, it was busy morning and some of the food ran out which we had to wait for, but not for very long. The spa area and pool was a bonus and we found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Best Western Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    68
    49
    28
    19
See reviews for
61
66
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The only reason I put this one in the average category is the amount of stairs involved to get to any room...there is no elevator, so if you are handicapped, you would want to choose another hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean with modern bathrooms. Staff are very helpful and after an exhausting trip to our room for my in-laws, who have difficulties walking great distances and with stairs, one of the staff members showed me a short cut through a banquet room that saved us time and steps when going back to the dining room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Best Western Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club.

I am pleased you found the rooms comfortable and the staff helpful.

The hotel does contain many stairs however we do have ground floor rooms with alternative access points should these be available.

We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay at the Oaks hotel. The staff, well one member of staff who serves breakfast with a smile and sense of humour, were pleasant and the hotel boasts stunning hotel windows in the main foyer.
You have to be fit to stay here. The amount of stairs required to get to our room left me breatess as did the distance required to carry your bags.
The pool is small and is not ideal for smaller children as is gets deep with little notice.
The room was poor. We had a family room with a tiny window which had a lovely view of a wall! The bunk beds were tired and creaked at every move of the kids. Our bed was worn and bowed so the dip meant we were forced to the middle. So poor sleep is assured.
Finally, whilst we stayed the hotel foyer smelled of sewage. When mention to the non smiling receptionist I was informed the maintainable person was on holiday. Oh dear! I cannot explain how after a night of fitful sleep on a poor bed listening to creaking bunks and being greatest with a smell of sewage first thing in the morning does for your appetite for breakfast.
I feel sad writing this as it would be do easy to have changed so much with do little effort. No official recognition of the smell was a catestrophic failure and the poor tired beds could and should be replaced.
Having stayed at a number of Best Western hotels before this has to rate as one of my worst experiences. The hotel appears to have no lift so make sure you are in prime health before you contemplate booking here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied by your stay and shall investigate the issues you have raised.

Your comments help us improve our standards and service and we thank you for this.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

No air conditioning in room & located directly opposite health club fitness studio blaring music out from 6:20am. Never got a minute's sleep as only provided with small electric fan which was also noisy and simply moved sweltering air around the room. Bathroom was almost too hot to stay in for longer than the time to use the loo! Very uncomfortable. Nice hotel and friendly staff totally ruined by inadequate facilities and a health club positioned in the middle of the room block! Madness!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied by your stay and would like to thank you for bringing to my attention the faults you found which I will look to rectify.

Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights recently on a business trip.
It is a nice quaint hotel with a bit of character. Very good value for the rate paid.
My room was ok, lacked natural light.
Staff were friendly.
Food was nothing special but adequate nevertheless.
I didn't get to check out the leisure centre but I was told by a colleague that it was nice.
The hotel isn't in a particularly nice area.
I would stay again if in the area on business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments after your visit to the hotel.

Your comments will help us to improve as we continuously strive to offer excellence.

We do hope to see you once again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel has certainly seen some improvements since staying here ten years ago. Back then it was very over-priced with minimal reinvestment in the actual rooms - motel quality really and typically "Rip-Off Britain". However, my wife and I stayed here in September 2011 and were pleased to see all the standard amenities that you would expect in a hotel had been installed. It's still a heck of a rabbit warren, and with a heavy suitcase it was a real hassle to go up and down several flights of stairs to get to our room on the far side of the hotel. If you're older you should maybe ask them to take your suitcase to your room for you. Nice touch that the bar was open and the receptionists were friendly accommodating - expect nothing less from Lancashire Lasses!
We found the prices quite reasonable. Its sister property is The Higher Trap which is a little further out in the country but not far at all - beautiful location and comparable prices.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for something closer to reception if you're going to bringing in a lot of heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you have recognised the efforts that have been made to improve the hotel and the quality of service.

We do hope that we shall see you in the area again visiting ourselves or one of our sister hotels.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Ive now stayed at the Oaks a few times...since recently becoming a member of Best western they have upgraded some of the rooms and public areas. Its very traditional but the staff, (especially reception), are very helpful and you are always made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: rooms on floor 2 and 3 are best for wifi and phone signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stays at the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stays and will pass your comments on to the team members.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.