We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding held there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Burnley
Burnley, Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding held there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We held my daughters wedding there over Christmas 11 and must say it went without a hitch and I can certainly recommend them.

The whole process went very smooth and on the day every ran like clockwork. The food was excellent, it was hot an very well served. The staff were all very helpful.

The only downside is the price of the drinks which really is a rip off but on balance if you are looking for a venue you won't go far wrong.

We got some fab photos as, the stair case with its stained glass window is stunning.

Thank you oaks for making it a memorable and great day.

Room Tip: As mother of the bride we got upgraded free of charge and our room was lovely. The bridal suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your daughters wedding here at The Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club.

We are pleased that we were able to part of making your daughters wedding day so special and look forward to seeing you all in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    42
    23
    19
See reviews for
49
53
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The hotel is very handy for Blackburn and Burnley which offers nice leisure facilities but the hotel is looking tired in places. The staff are friendly and helpful, the restaurant and breakfast were good. you have to be fit to stay here as we had to walk up and down about 7 staircases to reach our room...... not joking! Not advisable for disabled or the elderly.

Great for business and short breaks..... easy reach of good walking on Pendle Hill and Dales

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here over the Halloween weekend. I spoke to Dan to book and he was really helpful as well as giving us a really good price. On the first evening he made a special point of introducing himself and asked if we were happy with everything. We were quite impressed with this and also with the dining room staff who were so frindly and helpful.
The meals were very good, both breakfast and evening meal.
We enjoyed the leisure facilities which were also of a high standard with pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room etc . All were in full working order which made a pleasant change from some places we have stayed.
The room was very clean and had all the necessities like tv, tea and coffee etc plus we got a good nights sleep. I was impressed that even though there was a wedding function the staff had made sure our room was in a part of the hotel not affected by any noise.
All the staff were friendly and helpful from the reception to the leisure club and bar and restaurant.
The main area of the hotel where the bar and restaurant are situated is very impressive especially the staircase and stained glass window.
For what we paid the hotel delivered well over and above expectations. If some money was spent on the rooms this hotel has the potential to be excellent. The staff , meals and leisure club made our weekend and the standard is very very good.
Location is great for both Pendle Witch country and thr Bronte Trail etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green Cheshire
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed for 1 night, and upgraded to Room 101. This is a really large suite, with a huge bed, high quality furntiure, LED TV, Chandelier lighting, and a sitting room with a large leather settee, and a second LED TV. The bathroom is clean and the only comment is the shower glass panel, did cause water to leak on the floor.
The food is good, and the staff are, as ever, friendly and nothing is too much for them. The reception staff were truly helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms in the original main House, they are worth every penny of the extra [small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments.

Thank you for your comments regarding the team members here at The Oaks Hotel and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive rooms.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My Family booked the OAKS hotel back in august for our brothers funeral ,because we wanted somewhere nice what we were told we would get for the £1.000 + price never materialised ,the Roast beef was off the cream was sour the bar was closed when there was still lots of guests there on bringing it to staffs attention they did nothing ,i called in again the following day and was given lots of excuses when taking it further still nothing happened not even a apology
Dont Book A Function here they have no concept of customer satisfaction

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments.

At The Oaks Hotel we always strive for customer satisfaction and are proud of our record in achieving this.

I am of the understanding that after conversations with both the hotel management and Lavender Hotels management the matter has now drawn to a close.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Impressive building, beautiful 25ft stained glass window in the original entrance. Dinner was excellent and staff extremely helpful. It is undergoing some renovations as the bedrooms are a little dated. This is definitely not a place for the disabled. Three floors to climb which is rather confusing as it's up and down........
Breakfast was obviously cooked all at once and kept warm. Such a pity since dinner was excellent. At the very least serve fresh eggs!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and the servce received by the team members. I have aready looked into the issues you have raised regarding the breakfast and we shall work to improve this.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment as stated and this shall be ongoing to improve the hotels appearance.

We look forward to you visiting the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the Oaks Hotel a couple of weeks back whilst visiting family in the area. When arriving at the hotel we were approached by a lovely young receptionist who offered to help us with our luggage due to how much we had brought with us.The same young lady checked us in to the hotel and talk about service with a SMILE! she offered to upgrade us up to bed and breakfast at a good price as we had booked on room only. (which I thought was conciderate - but probably just procedure.) She kindly asked one of the bar staff to assist us with our baggage which was a huge help. The food was overall average, however my wife enjoyed what she had, which was the Cajun Chicken and said she would reccommend. The room was lovely, although a bit dated - nothing to moan about. The head bar man was very attentive and you could tell he was keen to do his job well. The next morning, the same young lady checked us out and to say she was working late the night before you couldnt fault her attitude and politeness for 7.30am! Unfortunately we did not see/use any the leisure facilites due to time, however would love to use them next time we stay. Overall, myself and my wife had a great stay at the Oaks and wouldnt hesitate booking to stay again. Just a big thankyou to the staff who made the stay even better for us.

Room Tip: try and upgrade to a suite or executive room, they are newly refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Oaks Hotel particularly those regarding the team members, I shall pass on your kind words to those concerned.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to welcoming you back once again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.