We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Alls Inn

Four Alls Inn
Higham Hall Road | Higham, Burnley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 132 Restaurants in Burnley
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Had been a traditional pub but with a new restaurant manager and chef food is now the main attraction
Padiham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently had a family get-together on a Sunday lunch at the Four Alls Inn. The Sunday special meñu has a very good choice I opted for mussel starter followed by fish with the trimmings. It was very tasty, however some of the younger members had the beefburger which was fine but the chips were a little frazzled! Apart from that a lovely place with a very varied and tasty meñu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having enjoyed this place for several years we were a little surprised to turn up on a Sunday to find the place virtually empty. We've previously been turned away or had to wait some time to get a table. Admittedly we'd never been there on a Sunday before so were curious as to why such a lack of patrons. The owner/ chef seemed to be the same and the menu, apart from the Sunday Roast, was familiar to us. Talking to the friendly waitress about how quiet it was led to no real explanation. Maybe it was the time we arrived or the fact that is was fine outside and everyone was off on country walks! We selected the Sunday roast option and were disappointed. The place is not what I'd call a Gastro Pub but they seemed to think they were with a small slice of well cooked beef over two halves of a small roast potato, several small parsnips and a Yorkshire pudding. I was ready for my main course when I'd eaten it! If this was a typical Sunday roast then I am sure that is the reason for the lack of customers. Numerous eateries round about serve up decent quality roasts or carveries on Sunday afternoons at much better prices. A disappointing meal on this occasion but I do know that the normal menu/specials are much better than this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for a impromptu lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I went here with my husband whilst needing to kill an hour, found it by accident. The parking is a little cramped.
The food is good pub food, not too fancy but exactly what you expect, done well. Only had a main of burger and chips but it was really good, couldn't finish all of it. Husband had chicken in peppercorn sauce which he couldn't fault.
I would advise booking as we went on a Saturday lunch time and ended up eating in the pool room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy good value food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Called in for an impromptu lunch and was delighted with the food we ordered. Starters of black pudding with poached eggs & mustard mash was a real delight. Good value for money. Eating area is quite small so I would suggest at prime times you will have to book in. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely little place, we discovered by accident. Great food & nice place to eat. Not the biggest place & not many tables which is a plus really as it doesn't get too packed. Will definitely be revisiting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Alls Inn also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to Four Alls Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Alls Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.