We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prairie

The Prairie
Keswick Road, Burnley BB10 1HW, England
01282 418221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 137 Restaurants in Burnley
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
1 review
“Absolutely superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The prairie for me is excellent, the staff are very friendly which provides excellent service and an overall family friendly environment. The drinks that they have are relatively cheap and of a great quality, never have any complaints. The food I thinks is great, it's cheaper than other establishments in the Burnley area and the food is done to a great standard and how you want it. The prairie also do quiz nights on Thursdays and Sundays which always provides a good atmosphere with lots of friendly teams competing. I would recommend this establishment to everyone I know.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    6
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brierfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Prairie lunchtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Visited for a quick lunch, very enjoyable, the food was good value well cooked. Karen was an excellent server. The service was fast and friendly and the pub was warm and comfortable.Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap food but relatively poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have eaten here a number of times as somewhere for a cheap bite to eat. The food is OK, nothing special but never terrible. The main issue I have had recently is that food is consistently send to the table with items missing. This has been rectified on the 3 occasions this has happened, but usually takes around 5 minutes to bring the missing food, by which time the other items are going cold. Also, there never seems to be enough people serving on the bar, and you are often waiting a long time to be served, even when it is not busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Place for a quick bite?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Visited the Prairie last night for a quick meal.Very busy with a 40 minute wait! The food arrived but my wife's steak was well done(asked for medium rare).Staff took the meal away and brought the same meal back 10 mins later but with a much better steak.There were hardly any of the fried onions and the 5 remaining pieces of Scampi had been allowed to come into contact with the skillet and were burnt. My meal was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great value for money. Swift service and they are always smiling. The pub is a bit cold tho but I'd highly recommend this pub if your with family looking to have a good time without spending a lot!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prairie also viewed

 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.