We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant really fault it but not blown away :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of fence gate inn

fence gate inn
wheatley lane | fence, Burnley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 129 restaurants in Burnley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: consistantly good food and bar snacks
fence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“cant really fault it but not blown away :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

very good atmosphere, nice food - better than average, staff polite and friendly,
nice contrast between restaurant ans bar area!!
will visit again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    63
    62
    41
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“bar area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

fab place for a drink on a Friday as its always packed! the restaurant is average with decent enough food but nothing to shout about! Fun place all in all

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wife's 50th Birthday meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our 2nd visit (23/10/13). We came last yr for my wife's birthday and it was very good, hence the return this yr.
We had been on line and chosen food we wanted to eat, but they have changed the menu and non of what we wanted was on the menu. Suggest someone looks at the web page now and again and updates it.
The starters we chose were good, for our main my wife chose the steak pointing to the Rib eye, but got a rump. We both said it was cooked ok but it was tasteless. I had the sea-bass and no complaints.
The restaurant was not busy for our 8.30 booking, staff attended to us quickly at first. We were asked if we wanted the sweet and coffee menu after the starters !! But then when we had finished our mains no one came to ask us if we wanted to see the sweet menu and we waited so 30 mins and I had to ask for it. Yes they apologised but they were too busy preparing tables for the next day. Why? We weren't the only ones who had to ask for the sweet menu, one young couple asked before we did.
Been twice now and I think thats enough, attention to customers is not difficult when the place is quiet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place, ok service and food. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great place for a drink on a Friday evening in a busy bar area. The restaurant is nice with large booths. The food has not been quite upto scratch the last few times I've been.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quality establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Have visited this establishment on several occasions over many years. It still remains the top pub in the area for food quality, service and decor.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fence gate inn also viewed

 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to fence gate inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage fence gate inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.