We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE SPARROWHAWK FENCE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sparrowhawk

The Sparrowhawk
152 Wheatley Lane Road | Fence, Burnley, England
01282 603034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 132 Restaurants in Burnley
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our food is fresh & sourced locally to embrace the flavours of the region. We are Taste Lancashire Highest Quality Assured & members of Made in Lancashire. We offer an extensive wine & also cask ales for which we achieved The Cask Marque Award. Upstairs we have a separate function room for private dining or business occasion. You can always be guaranteed a warm welcome & friendly service.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“THE SPARROWHAWK FENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Decided to try the Sparrowhawk for a change, as we used to go there on a fairly regular basis a few years ago. There had been some changes & a new restaurant manager installed.
It wasn't overly busy at the time we went on the Sunday night.
We were shown to our table, & had our drink & meal order taken. The drinks arrived within a few minutes, & not long after our starter was served.
The staff were back with the main course within a few minutes of clearing our starter.
The food was extremely good, & the portions were quite filling, so much so we could not eat a sweet.
The service was very good & the staff friendly.
The only slight problem was that our table was reasonably close to the bar, & as there were a few lads there, it was quite noisy. Luckily they all left part way through our main meal, so we were able to enjoy it better.
We would go again but sit further away from the bar. Overall, not a bad experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    23
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a loveley old pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you want some really good food in a very comfortable traditional pub atmosphere visit the Sparrowhawk on Wheatley Lane in the village of Fence near Burnley.
You will be given a very warm welcome at the bar which has some excellent cask beers from a local brewery.
Myself and my wife have visited twice recently and have had really good tasty food which has always been very well presented and hot.
The serving staff here are always smiling and pleasant and are well organised by the Manager who is always very busy ensuring customers are enjoying their visit.
Our last visit was for a Sunday Lunch and all the food was excellent . The roast meats were very good quality and were perfectly cooked and very tasty, together with some great roast potatoes.
My Apple Crumble sweet was one of the best I have ever had .
There are seats outside the pub with fantastic views over the Lancashire hills and this is a great place to sit with a drink on a nice day.
Give this pub a visit . You will be warmly welcomed and be made to feel like a valued customer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I were invited to a 30th Birthday bash here last Sunday.
Where do i start I have known this hostelry for many years and nothing seems to have changed that much there is still the gang of hooray Henry's propping up the bar as there was 40 years since.
Staff very attentive and quick service, my starter tempura prawns were superb followed by home made steak in ale pie not so good pie was dry served with soggy chips and a mound of very acidic red cabbage.But to top it all £17.50 for a bottle of pinot Grigio that is what you expect in Manchester but not with a pub lunch. Most of our party of 20 ordered the Sunday roast that is well rated but if you wanted all three meats there was a supplement (Try the Rose N Bowl Stacksteads as much meat and veg as you can eat and super quality) all in all average pub food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I've always regarded the Sparrowhawk as an "average" type of place. However, I started hearing some good things recently so we went to check it out for ourselves.

The restaurant was very warm and welcoming, as were the staff; we were seated immedately.

The menu was extensive, the food was excellent, the service was attentive and prompt.

Overall it was a great experience, we all enjoyed the evening and vowed to go back very soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very very dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

after reading reviews on here, admittedly some good and some bad we decided to try it out!
we went on a Saturday evening and it was quite busy but the staff weren't overly busy, many of them stood around "having a laugh" rather than tending to customers!!
my meal was luke warm and my wifes chicken was so so dry it was awful, they forgot to bring my chips and when reminded still didn't bring them, wine took forever to be brought to the table and the staff were not apologetic!
we paid and left and will NOT be returning!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sparrowhawk also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Fence, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Sparrowhawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sparrowhawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.