We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - pity about the food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds - CLOSED

Hare and Hounds
1 Halifax Rd | Briercliffe, Burnley BB10 3QH, England
01282423268
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Hare and Hounds Inn, Briercliffe, Burnley. Traditional British pub offering a cosy bar area, games room & separate dining area with panoramic views.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location - pity about the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We've visited the Hare and Hounds a few times for food over the past couple of years and everytime we have been disappointed.
Our most recent visit was for a function where they served a really disappointing buffet.
I agree with a previous reviewer. The restaurant is has no atmosphere at all. By all means go for a pub snack, but don't expect anything more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a super evening out ,good tasty food,well cooked,large portions.Waiters were smart and
helpful. We had such a good choice and the desserts were a treat.We was not rushed and was
made really welcome

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent place for a pint, beer well looked after and barmen always on top form! Had some tea with my sister dead tasty and plenty of it definatly value for money! The way forward there is also a beautiful resturant area overlooking the veiws if you want something more intimate!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FabTastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Valentine's Dinner was exceptionally good value & the food was out of this world. The atmosphere was bliss and the service was second to none! I will certainly be back again and will recommend to all I know. Thank You for making our Special Evening even more Special. X x X X x X

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Night out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We decided to go to the Hare and Hounds after reading "Trip Advisor" reviews. Unfortunately the experience didn't match the high rating it had been given. The restaurant is in a dated extension to the pub and is furnished with cheap furniture. There is little atmosphere and when we visited (Friday evening), there were only 6 diners in total.
The food was at best average, I had 1/2 roast duck and my wife had steak and ale pie.
The service was fine and the coffee was good but if this is supposed to be one of the best pubs in Burnley to eat, according to your reviewers, I feel concerned for the culinary tastes of the Burnley folk. We wouldn't recommend it to our friends and we won't be going back. Sorry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.