We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top standard pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds - CLOSED

Hare and Hounds
1 Halifax Rd | Briercliffe, Burnley BB10 3QH, England
01282423268
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Hare and Hounds Inn, Briercliffe, Burnley. Traditional British pub offering a cosy bar area, games room & separate dining area with panoramic views.
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top standard pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Hare and Hounds reputation is well deserved,the first thing that hits you is the sparkling cleanliness of the place,this gives you confidence to eat in the excellent restaurant.The staff are all pleasant and helpful and are led by the friendly and efficient owners Sue and Graham,one of the many highlights is the weekly quiz on Tuesday nights,see you there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“new years eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

well wat can i say wat a brill nght the food was amazing the entertainment was just has good topped of with that the dj had organised a piper to bring in the new year all turned out to be a night to remember highly recommended (nicola)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really friendly traditional pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Leaving our home in “Salmondland” to visit the Lancashire metropolis of Burnley, we have sometimes found ourselves in the Hare & Hounds.
This hostelry commands a prominent position overlooking the valley to the moors beyond and has a secure park for your 'horse'power from where you can enter into the warm and comfortable surroundings.
The staff are immediately friendly - eager to serve and offering advice on the excellently kept local beers and food available. The food is always freshly cooked to order from a varied menu to suit all sizes of appetite.
The seating is in two rooms - one housing a pool table and dart board – the other a more formal lounge. To the rear is a function suite available for hire - or it is rumoured, for the lucky regulars, for the 'themed nights' held during the year. (Start being a regular now and possibly have an invite to the excellent Hogmanay party - one not to be missed!)
In fact, The Hare & Hounds is everything a visitor would like to find in a 'traditional'English pub and it is thanks to Sue and Graham for making it so - wish there were more like them.
Haggis Hunter

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
1 review
“Fabulous start to the New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have as a family experienced some memorable New Years Eve's in different parts of the world, and at our age there have been quite a few !. Last New Year's eve (2011/112) , on the recommendation of a friend ,we went to the Hare Hounds. It was an exceptional night that we all enjoyed,including close family who travelled down from Scotland to join us.
Because of this experience, we again chose to bring in the New Year at the H&H. I thought it would of a similiar high standard to the previous year. I have to say to our amazement,it was even better !!.
It was a diamonds and black tie themed dinner dance .We were greeted on our arrival in the main bar by friendly staff serving excellent canapes, followed by the really nice touch of having our photos taken. We were then invited into the beautifully decorated Restaurant for our meal.
The food was beautifully cooked with each course, exceptional in its own right. This was enhanced by the service from the friendly and attentive staff, who seemed to anticipate our every need without appearing intrusive. The whole evening was exceptional in the absolutely seamless delivery of a fabulous experience and wonderful start to the New Year.There was a free raffle in which very one seemed to the winner of a quality prize. There followed a disco with everyone including the staff joining in. Much to the delight of our Scottish visitors the disco tunes were interrupted by the stirring sounds by of a piper in full regalia piping in the new year,while we all drank pink champagne. Wonderful !. We then caried on dancing well into the early hours with bacon butties providing furhter sustenance.The level of detail and attention to it, from trilbies for the men,diamonds for the ladies was as impressive as I have seen anyhwere
in my travels. This created a fabulous atmosphere in a beautifully dressed venue. I think it says it all when our family from Edinburgh have said there is no where else they would rather spend New years Eve than with Sue,Graham and their exceptional staff .I would on behalf of our family and friends, like to say a very big Thank You , and wish you all a much deserved, Happy and Prosperous New Year. Frank,Liz,Elle,Myke,Elaine and Tony

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Magical do to bring in the new year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Having heard from our friends what a good food pub it was, with weekly/weekend food and hospitality, we decicided to bring in the New Year in with our friends, for the Black Tie and Tiara Dinner dance. When we arrived we were greeted at the door, The waitresses served us with the most delightful canopies, then we had photos taken. From there we was taken to a beautifully dressed room to start our 7 course meal. Every course was a culinary delight cooked to perfection. We then had a free raffle and the prizes were all quality, and to my delight, I won one. We all joined in the dancing and at midnight the Landlady had got a piper in for piping in the new year with complimentary Pink Champagne. We danced till the early hours and at 02.00 Bacon Sandwiches were brought round to keep us going. I can honestly say it was the best New Year's Eve I've had. The decor, ambience, food, entertainment was top class, even down to the table presentation with trilby hats for the guys and tiaras for the ladies, table runners and crystals poppers and helium balloons. Even the ceiling was cover with baubles and decorations. It really was Fantastic and would highly recommend every side to this traditional pub, with all the trimmings of The Ritz. Amazing!! I look forward to calling in this year for bar snacks and meals in your ala carte restuarant and for your future celebration dinner dances. Well done and thank you for making it so so special. All the best for 2013. Les and Jim Dyson

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.