We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel for a resonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Burnley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alphen aan den Rijn
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel for a resonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is about 5 years old and they were renewing all the interior of all the rooms. I had been staying in upgraded room and for the last night I had to pay for the upgrade so I went to the downgraded room which had a different interrior but for the rest no differences. They claimed the beds were better. This is depending on the fact if you like hard beds (which were in the new rooms) The breakfast is average nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    114
    63
    18
    8
See reviews for
66
75
25
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Expresses, and can honestly say that the Burnley one is by far my favourite. The hotel has a welcoming, modern look, both inside and out (it looks lovely at night), and the rooms are often very reasonably priced.

If you've spent a night at other Holiday Inn Express hotels, there are several things you'll know to expect in advance: clean, well looked after rooms with free tea & coffee and en suite shower; plenty of free parking; free all-you-can-eat standard breakfast buffet (to all the moaners, the breakfast selection is virtually identical in every Holiday Inn Express). You get all this at Holiday Inn hotels too (minus the free breakfast), but Holiday Inn Express hotels are typically known for providing a no frills, fairly basic experience.

So what makes this Holiday Inn Express different? For starters, this one has a lovely restaurant with some fairly priced meals (I'm not aware of any other Holiday Inn EXPRESS hotels that have a restaurant - normally this only applies to Holiday Inns). There's a bar with a good selection of drinks (not that cheap, but it is a hotel). The rooms have decent-sized flat screen TVs! (So many other Holiday Inn Expresses still use terrible 14" portable TVs.) But above all, the staff are courteous, helpful, friendly and actually pleasant to talk to. On the odd occasion where I've needed something out of the ordinary, they've gone out of their way to help.

As a result, I've stayed here several times, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am delighted you like the hotel and will ensure your comments are past to the team. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again very soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Travelling to Northumberland, we decided to choose somewhere in the vicinity of Burnley for a simple stopover and the HiEx fit the bill perfectly. Check in was friendly, quick and efficient (even though the first key card issued didn't want to play ball!) and a request for an additional blanket for the bed was fulfilled quickly without fuss. The room had air conditioning which can be set to heat as well.

We eat in the hotel and the food was tasty and served quickly, although since there were only half a dozen of us in the bar area I can't comment on how a busy day may go!

Breakfast was filling, although I agree with the comments about adding bacon to the choices but everything else was good.

Would certainly use this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find this top quality hotel in my home town of Burnley. It's very modern and bright with a nice bar and reception area.
The rooms are a good size and the decor very smart.
Our room backed onto the motorway so I expected it being very noisy but the double glazing works well.
Breakfast was buffet style so as much as you wanted to eat. The food was good with a wide choice. The only negatives were the tables were never cleaned and you had to wait for some of the food as they only put a small amount out at a time. To be fair though the hotel was fully occupied as it was the weekend so very busy.
We booked well in advance so got a good deal. I would not pay the £149 they were asking if you didnt have a reservation though!

Room Tip: The motorway noise didnt bother me but maybe the rooms facing the car park would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluntisham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here with the family (mum , dad and 2 x children) to see the sights of the the south Yorkshire country side including Skipton. Easy access to motorway M65 and M6. Friendly staff great lounge area magnificent breakfast. Bedrooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . The hotel is a great place to use as a base for the local attractions but it is worth visiting us again should you wish to visit Blackpool of the Lake District as both are only 40 minutes travel time.

I hope we can welcome you back for your next short break.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Last stayed for a lesuire visit in July. This time was (unfortunately) on business.

Check in very friendly and efficient.

Didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar area is very nice and the breakfast was usual HIE selection but all good. very busy in bar area in the evening (football on) so nowhere to sit but sat at the bar so no problem.

Also offered free wifi but service was very intermittent on the evening in question, I guess this was a technical hitch as I heard others mention it as well.

Had a take away delivered from local pizza company and was very good.

Will definitely stay again when need to be in Blackburn etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for coming back and glad to hear we will see you again when you are next in the area.
It would be nice if you would try the new menu on your next trip. Please let me know when you are next visiting the area and I will arrange an introductory discount for the restuarant to be available on arrival.
Have a great weekend and we will look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We checked in enroute to Preston. We were on priority points as we stay a lot at Holiday Inn so we know what to expect and are generally aren't disappointed.

However this hotel was a total nightmare. When we first checked in, we noticed a strong smell of something similar to TCP. The windows had been left open, probably to combat this. We thought we would leave it and hoped it would have died down by the time we returned from dinner. Unfortunately it hadn't. WE complained and asked to change rooms as the smell really was overpowering. No rooms available. If we had known the area we would have checked out there and then. The duty manager also noted the smell when he came up to bring us extra pillows. I had a terrible headache on retiring due to the smell. The next day and during several email exchanges the staff totally denied there was a problem and basically made us out to be liars, even though it was obvious someone knew of the problem and indeed the duty manager noted it!

WE also had issues with a clown from reception bringing us pillows twice at 11pm. Despite being sent away once as we had already received them, he came back 15mins later claiming we had phoned down.

Breakfast was disorganised and stock was low. I had the scrambled eggs which I regretted bitterly as they repeated on me all day and by mid afternoon I had terrible stomach cramps and diarrhoea.

In all a total disaster and the customer service was appalling. We finally got our points refunded after a battle.

Certainly wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I know I have responded to the points you have raised however I am really sorry that you still seem agrieved despite the steps we have taken to address your issues. I can only reiterate that we are really sorry that we just can not identify the smell you describe .

Breakfast is the Holiday Inn brand standard which is under review and may well change very shortly.

Regards

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burnley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Address: 55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burnley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burnley 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 J10 has 102 self contained modern bedrooms which all come equipped with direct dial phones, high speed internet access , 26' LCD TVs, Freeview, satellite TV, blockbuster in-room pay movies, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning and power showers. The Holiday Inn Express Burnley has 4 up to date dedicated meeting rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access, tea & coffee facilities, LCD screens with direct data connection, natural daylight and air conditioning. At the Holiday Inn Express Burnley a complimentary Continental breakfast is included for all guests, a limited evening menu is available. Burnley s countryside is a living mosaic of woods, farmland and waterways with over four hundred kilometers of cycleways, bridleways and footpaths leading from the South Pennine Moors to the Calder and Ribble Valleys in the shadow of Pendle Hill.Please note: this is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burnley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Hotel Burnley
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Burnley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.