We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

You will not be disappointed beautiful place the spa was fantastic food was brilliant .the Hotel was clean and spotless . And most of the staff was helpful . Go on treat yourselves. The restaurant was top-notch on the restaurant manager should give yourself a big pat on the back and to is staff big thank you

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Stephen C

Thank you for reviewing your experiences of our Hotel.

We work very hard to deliver the highest levels of service and your review will prove very encouraging to us all.

We look forward to welcoming you third time round!

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    241
    184
    98
    73
See reviews for
156
264
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went to tea room at short notice for afternoon tea having had to cancel another booking elsewhere. Sandwiches were excellent and cakes very enjoyable. The children’s meals were of good quality and delivered plenty of food. All the prices seemed very reasonable and the service was good.

The setting is good, both inside and around the complex itself. All in all a good venue for a drop in meal

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Gull44

Many thanks for reviewing your recent visit to our tea room.

We have recently introduced some new dishes on to our tea room menu and the childrens meals and daily specials are part of those changes.

I'll share your comments with our team who i'm sure will be encouraged by them.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We like it here. Its a relaxed place with good bars, comfy rooms, nice restaurant, a spa, treatment rooms and some great walks behind the hotel. It has everything we enjoy for a getaway. We got a very reasonably priced Spa Sunday voucher which included evening meal, spa and breakfast. We will definitely come again!
However, for the fussy ones out there who love to complain, I could suggest some improvements so that the hard working staff can be appreciated to the full - management take note...
Beds - buy some quality, firm mattresses for the old crocks like us. The staff should be trained to ask regarding this at booking and rooms matched accordingly. I phoned, but there was no 'bad back' option.
Spa - have a regular cleaning day for the Jacuzzi to get rid of the mould on the edges. Also give the roof above a refurb (wooden sauna type look or mosaic tiles would be good - at the moment the chipped paint isn't great). The plastic curtains need replacement as they were grubby.
Treatments - I paid for an Indian head massage which was not very good. It was a light facial and some half hearted messing about - it should have been a skilful manipulation of the scalp muscles and stimulation of the hair roots. My scalp should have been tingling afterwards but wasn't so probably won't have that again. The girls probably need better training.
Also, I spoke to a lady with an accent back in March and carefully booked a full body massage for my partner. She didn't listen properly and only booked him for a neck, back and shoulders. We received no apology and the pleasant chap on the desk did not take any responsibility on behalf of the management for the error. That made me feel responsible and I shouldn't have felt like that. Staff need to understand that customers don't say things like that which are untrue - better customer service training needed. We just got on with it though and didn't let it spoil our stay. But my partner's a lovely chap who works very hard and he deserved his full massage really.
Finally - the bar prices are too expensive. If they lowered them I'm sure they would get more business from the nearby nice looking estate. We only had one because of the price. Buyers psychology - people actually spend more if they don't feel they are being charged unfairly - ergo happy customers, happy management and staff. Here endeth the lesson!
None of this spoiled our trip but I hope the management take note and sort these things out, then their business will rocket, I guarantee it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear J R

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent visit to us here at the Last Drop Village.

I will share your comments and thoughts with our team and I hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I came here for a relaxing vacation over the half term hoildays but was met with staff who were very rude and selfish. The toilets stank of wee and poo. I will not be returning as I didn't feel that the hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Melissa P

I am sorry to read your review of your visit to us.

Please be assured we take all our guest feedback very seriously and I will investigate your comments as a matter of urgency.

Kind Regards

Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night, Saturday 12 April, as part of a National Holidays weekend away. We were expecting a hotel in a village location - the tea room, shops etc being a stroll down a village high street. What a surprise we got!

Our bedroom, together with all public areas, was spotlessly clean with excellent facilities. The evening meal, and breakfast the following morning, were very well cooked and presented, with excellent choice. All the staff were extremely efficient, smartly dressed and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We didn't have to wait for anything. The bar area was very comfortable and tastefully furnished. We particularly liked the pianist on the mezzanine.

As we were only here for one night, arriving at 5 p.m. and leaving at 9 a.m. the following morning, unfortunately we did not get chance to visit the spa or the fabulous quirky cottages/shops in the rear courtyard. We could only see the shops from outside.

Can't wait to go back and spend more time here.

Room Tip: We were in room 35 which was fine, although I suspect there may have been a condensing unit on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear GoolieEastYorkshire

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are a popular destination for tour groups and it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your visit.

I hope we will welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights and i have to say we enjoyed it .. we had a family room in the executive suite which is situated to the side of the main Hotel and its very quiet which was ideal as i am a light sleeper ..the beds were very comfy the room was very large and so was the bathroom .. shampoo, shower gel , and large fluffy towels were all included .Kettle , hairdrier ,iron and ironing board are tucked away in the wardrobe .. we did not eat in the restaurant as it looked pricey,but we did know of the Toby Carvery in Crompton Way 5 mins drive away, they do all u can eat meals plus breakfast from 9am very cheap .. Imogen on Reception was very helpful too.. we enjoyed our couple of days and are hoping to go back in August ...

Room Tip: room 309 was our room ..very nice .. 1 double bed and 2 singles free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear JuliaChristo

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and Imogen is equally delighted with her personal mention.

It's a shame you didn't dine with us, we have a variety of menu's and a very reasonably priced set menu so maybe next time you visit we can tempt you!.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind Regards

Jayne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I went on a spa package to the Last Drop for a night with a group of girls for birthday. The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The gardens and court yard was very quirky with little shops and a pub.
The pool and sauana area was lovely and I really enjoyed the outside hot pool. I have a swedish massage done by Sophie and then sat in the chillout area waiting for the rest of my group.
The 3 course meal was nice and filling the only down side was the price of alcohol a bottle of Peroni £4.50 and a short £5. I dont drink so it didnt really matter to me.
Didnt want to come home as it was a nice chilled out night

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Joanne B

Many thanks for posting such a lovely review following your recent Spa break with us.

It is a delight to share this review with our team and i'm sure it will act as great encouragement to them for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Jayne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Address: Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Bromley Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is a collection of 18th century farmhouses with 128 rooms, located on the edge of the Pennine Moors. Ideal for visiting Haydock Racecourse, Chester Zoo or the nearby Ribble Valley. 25 min from Manchester city centre and close to major road networks. Self contained conference centre accommodating up to 700 delegates. Courtyard Restaurant, Courtyard bar, Tea Shop, and Spa Naturel including indoor pool, technogym, sauna and beauty rooms. 24 hour room service, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel Bolton
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel And Spa
Last Drop Village Bolton
Last Drop Hotel Bolton
Accor Last Drop Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.