We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shower” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a shower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Last Drop twice In the last 2 weeks and although we had different rooms both time the shower was just useless
First time I reported it they said someone would look into it and when I and a colleague checked out this morning we both complained about the shower in our rooms
No apologies but the person on reception said it was because there was a coach party in and everyone must have taken a shower at the same time
What an insult !
Result we will never use this place again



Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Danny M

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear you left us dissapointed, please be assured we take guest care very seriously here and I will be following up your review with my Front of House Manager and Maintenance team.

Please do contact me directly via the e mail address below if you do find yourself in the area again and I will personally oversee your reservation for you.

Warm Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    241
    184
    98
    73
See reviews for
156
264
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

stayed for one night in late october. the room was very clean, we had a family room, one double and one single. bathroom with bidet. well stocked hospitality tray.. very warm with heating on.. the main attraction of this hotel is the spa/leisure. its fantastic. the breakfast was lovely with a wide choice of food. fresh fruits, cerals, croissants etc, and full english cooked to a high standard. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear lovetoswim55

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and your comments will act as encouragment for our team here.

I hope we will welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here on a last minute break with my partner, on an offer which included a spa treatment, 3 course meal and breakfast and was very impressed. Staff were all lovely particularly in the restaurant where the food was lovely. Room was clean and very nice, and the spa facility's were great!
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Shiela K

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent Spa Break with us.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your comments will certainly act as encouragement for the rest of our team here.

I do hope we will welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We attended a fashin show last friday at the Pennine Suite. There where 10 of us in the party we ordered bottles of wine £21.95 per bottle - not cheap. The wine was disgusting one of our party is a publican of 25 years standing and thought that the wine was the lowest quality and probably cost £2 at the most. On top of that a glass of lemonade £1.90 there are limits to peoples patience.There was a big attendance ( known to the Hotel) and they ran out of glasses, thats pretty unprofessional. No wonder this place has struggled in the past.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Chris e

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us.

We take our guests comments very seriously and my Banqueting team are aware of what they need to do in the future to ensure we do not run out of any stock or glassware etc during a function.

On a lighter note if your friend could point me in the direction that I may purchase wine for £2 a bottle I would be very grateful as we certainly pay a lot more than that!.

As you will be aware the price for food & drink has increased dramatically over the last 12-18 months and this is the same for our industry as purchasers of products as much as it is for a general consumer.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed however I hope it will not put you off returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for 15 nights whilst working in the area and I stay in hotels all over uk and can honestly say that for the price it's nearly faultless! It's a large hotel with shops inside, tea room bar restaurant the lot! Bar food/drinks very expensive (took an hour to come on a 2 occasions) though more in line with a hotel that is double the room rate! Nichola (I think) on reception was lovely, there was always plenty of staff on not like someone else mentioned. The gym/spa was lovely used gym/pool/sauna and jacuzzi but no treatments! The hotel would not suit a modern decor and I did not see any part of the hotel that warranted some peoples reviews! Thanks

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Laver84

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read that you stayed with us for 15 nights and had a positive experience, this will act as a great encouragement to our team.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I book a room for the night st the last drop it was not a cheap hotel by any means at a hundred and nine pounds bed and breakfast. The rooms were in need of refurbishment and the bathroom just needed replacing completely the furniture was dark and dismal a huge disappointment would have complained if would have been staying longer. But to top it all the breakfast the next morning was worse then the room and the staff didn't understand that people liked their coffee and tea hot not tepid and if there was some we could not find the toast will not stay there again

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear moonunity

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is always disappointing to read a negative review however please be assured that myself and my team will be using your feedback constructively and will be making immediate improvements where possible.

Should you be visiting the area again in the future please contact me directly and I will gladly oversee your reservation for you.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Spa treatments very rushed. Impersonal. Patronizing.Staff over heard complaining about consumers. Not enough space in relaxation lounge. Very cramped waiting room/help yourself coffee area where there are no clean cups or glasses.

Spa had big swimming pool nice jacuzzi looking over the lovely views outside. Had to ask for the bubbles to be switched on. Not enough loungers. Steam room broke. Only sauna woking. Kids in the spa! Not the relaxing feeling you want from a spa break.

Reception staff did not know anything. It seem like the were all straight out of school and it was their first day at work.

Breakfast was good.
Evening meal was ok, nothing special.
Last drop village was different.

Piano bar pleasant.

Due to lots of hen nights expect lots of banging on doors at 2am in morning.

Rooms were clean and spacious. Bathroom smelled of urine. Shower your usual crappy hotel shower.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Spafindera

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed following your recent spa break with us.

We are a very popular choice for Spa weekends and at times it can be very busy in our spa area.

Please be assured that myself and our Spa Manager are looking into all the area's of your feedback and will be looking to make immediate improvements where we can.

Should you be visiting the area in the future please do contact me directly and I will personally oversee your reservation for you.

Thank you for your time and I hope we may welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Address: Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Bromley Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is a collection of 18th century farmhouses with 128 rooms, located on the edge of the Pennine Moors. Ideal for visiting Haydock Racecourse, Chester Zoo or the nearby Ribble Valley. 25 min from Manchester city centre and close to major road networks. Self contained conference centre accommodating up to 700 delegates. Courtyard Restaurant, Courtyard bar, Tea Shop, and Spa Naturel including indoor pool, technogym, sauna and beauty rooms. 24 hour room service, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel Bolton
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel And Spa
Last Drop Village Bolton
Last Drop Hotel Bolton
Accor Last Drop Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.