We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last drop is a flop” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bromley Cross
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Last drop is a flop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms are not so much tired as suffering from Chronic fatigue syndrome. Dirty walls, stained carpet, mouldy windows, non stop running loo, aged décor and shabby furniture. To add insult to injury and make the bedroom even more gloomy you have to close the curtains at all times otherwise everyone walking past can see in to the room. Why not fit a semi sheer blind?
Communal areas within the hotel were marginally better but the walkways to the outside two tier courtyard rooms (think Crossroads Motel) were screaming out for a coat of paint and a scrub down.
It might also be an idea to sweep up the cigarette butts littering the outside areas.
Someone please take pity on this poor neglected and outdated hotel and put it (and us) out of its misery.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the two tier courtyard rooms outside the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Raceytoes

I am sorry to read you were disappointed with your recent visit to us.

We take all our guest feedback very seriously and will look to make improvements where we can.

Whilst we do have certain challenges because of the age and layout of the hotel we work very hard in all area's to ensure our guests enjoy their stay.

Should you wish to return to the hotel again please make contact with me directly and I will personally oversee your reservation for you and look to make sure you are allocated in one of our executive rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    209
    167
    78
    62
See reviews for
134
231
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stay for one night at this spa, the rooms hark back to the 80,s and really needs some money throwing at it . Breakfast was cold and disjointed , half in one room half in another , staff were very nice but all the medieval look to the complex gave it a feel of being on a theme park resort without the rides. It also cost us £109 for bnb for one night :-/ too much .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Woodgnome10

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all our guests comments and will always look for ways to make improvements to our guest experience where we can.

As you have mentioned our property is an old traditional property and whilst it may not be to every ones taste it is a unique property offering not just a hotel but a Village with shops and also our Spa.

I'm pleased you found our team to be friendly and can only ask that should you be visiting the area in the future please e mail me directly and I will personally oversee your reservation.

Once again thank you for your time.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield, west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

stayed for our mothers 70th birthday
Would go again although its not cheap!
Spa is nice, lovely view from swimming pool
Rooms were nice and spacious although need some updating
Food was very nice...
Bar was always very busy :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear emb1981

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear you thought the hotel was lovely and I can assure you that our pricing is in line with hotels and restaurants within our market. We try and run special offers where we can to offer further value for money and as I'm sure you'll be aware the cost to purchase our products has risen alongside that of our consumer.

I do hope this will not put you off returning to us in the future.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed on the 27/09/13 at the last drop in Bolton.Our friends booked this hotel several weeks earlier to attend a reception. We were given a room in the courtyard outside whilst our friends were given a room in the main block. Very disappointed with the booking staff siting us so far apart after booking early.
The rooms in the courtyard area are strange in that people going to and from their rooms look into any other room when passing ,thus the curtains have to be shut at all times to maintain privacy.
Bar prices very expensive for the area , £4.00 per pint and £3.85 for 175mm glass of wine.
Breakfast was good but the room was very crammed with tables making access to the food areas difficult.
Room prices expensive at £74.00 per room when they cannot find two rooms together.
Overall an average experience but wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: courtyard nice but rooms exposed to view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Giggyb

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay.

We work very hard to ensure our guests all leave us happy and on this occasion I'm sorry you didn't however should you be visiting the area in future please do contact me on h6634-om@accor.com and I will oversee your booking personally.

Once again many thanks and Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having stayed in Perth and Tobermory (see reviews) this hotel was very disappointing but thankfully it was a one night stay on the way to Scotland and the same when returning. The room on the outward journey was shabby and in need of decorating. The TV did not work properly and the beds could have been more comfortable. The duvet was wafer thin, it was like having a piece of paper over you! The room on the way back was smarter but the beds had the same issues, The fan in the bathroom in the second room was extremely loud, we could even hear the fan in the bedroom next door!
Getting to the first room was not easy and we are both very fit and able! There were steps outside that were uneven and there was no handrail, then there was a wooden outside stairway with a rail only on one side, when these were wet they were positively dangerous!
The breakfast on both occasions was average. The evening meal on the outward journey was again average although the veg was poor as was one of the desserts. The fruit salad was an apple with all of two grapes! The second evening meal was terrible, the look was enough to put you off!
Generally the staff were not approachable, there was an exception at morning breakfast prior to 7am. Not a place to recommend.

29 September 2013

Room Tip: Not applicable as no one on coach had a really good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear David H

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and I can assure you we take all
our guests feedback seriously as we strive to achieve our high level of service.

Here at the hotel we do face some challenges with our bedrooms however I am delighted to share that we will soon be replacing all our beds and mattresses so should you be visiting the area in the future please do contact me directly on h6634-om@accor.com and I gladly ensure you are allocating in one of our executive rooms at no extra charge.

Please be assured I will share your comments with my team who I'm sure will use them constructively.

Kind Regards
Jayne Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently got married in Cyprus, I decided to book the spa retriever package for my husband and I to stay after our UK reception. I received an email confirming our booking and I also called and confirmed the booking for two people. I informed them it was our wedding reception and asked for a special room, disappointed doesn't even come close, what an absolute dump. Apparently it was an 'executive' room, the decor was shocking and our view was of a brick wall. We weren't even asked if we wanted any help carrying our things to the room and the place is a bloody maze, not even sign posted. We are a young married couple, not people that spend our time moaning about hotels but I cannot believe how badly we were ripped off!! Some of our friends paid money onto our room as a wedding present and we weren't even informed!! How exactly how you supposed to enjoy something like that if someone doesn't even inform you?! They STILL didn't even tell us until we asked!! There was one person working on reception at check out time and a huge queue. We called when we returned home after checking we hasn't made a mistake with the cost and were waiting over ten minutes to be answered. Terrible service, terrible hotel thanks for putting a dampner on such a special occasion you idiots.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Paul & Lauren

It is with disappointment that I read your comments following your recent stay with us.

As I have explained in my response to you over direct e mail there are lots of ways in which accommodation is paid for and on this occasion my team were instructed that you will have been told who had paid and therefore they did not need to tell you.

We use all our guest feedback constructively therefore thank you for taking the time to bring it to my attention and please accept our apologies for your disappointment.

Regards
Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Address: Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Bromley Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bromley Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is a collection of 18th century farmhouses with 128 rooms, located on the edge of the Pennine Moors. Ideal for visiting Haydock Racecourse, Chester Zoo or the nearby Ribble Valley. 25 min from Manchester city centre and close to major road networks. Self contained conference centre accommodating up to 700 delegates. Courtyard Restaurant, Courtyard bar, Tea Shop, and Spa Naturel including indoor pool, technogym, sauna and beauty rooms. 24 hour room service, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel And Spa
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel Bolton
Last Drop Village Bolton
Last Drop Hotel Bolton
Accor Last Drop Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.