We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, excellent spa facilities, good breakfasts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, excellent spa facilities, good breakfasts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The only negative side we found was the evening meals. Although well presented, we thought they were very overpriced, and the service rather poor. Also the tables were in very poor condition, we sat at two different tables and both were very scratched making it look rather tatty. Tablecloths on the tables for the evening meals would have made all the difference. It was also disappointing that the menu displayed in the room wasn’t available during the weekend.
But apart from that, everything else couldn’t fault. A very enjoyable stay. We would go again, but eat elsewhere for the evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_gm, General Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. The menu is new launched on the 3rd of June and we are currently gathering feed back therefore thank you. The tables are rather old and showing signs of age, maybe we can consider table cloths.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    274
    205
    114
    77
See reviews for
182
304
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
501 reviews 501 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 261 cities Reviews in 261 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here a few years ago on business and was impressed. Less impressed this time, but no specific complaints.

We stayed here as a friend and business associate was having his 65th birthday/retirement party 5 minutes walk away, so very convenient.

This is a very busy hotel, as there where no parking spaces at all when we arrived. We circled around for a while and eventually found one. It was a saturday and there was a wedding underway and a coach in the carpark, so the hotel was packed. The spa was also busy.

Fortunately reception was quieter, so we were checked in quickly and in a friendly manner. We were allocated room 28 in "The Courtyard". The outlook to the front and rear of the room was very pleasant. The room was fairly dated and in need of a refurb. The gardens looked nice, but as it rained all the time during our stay, we never had the chance to appreciate them. The fitments in the bathroom were very cheap indeed and below motel standards!! That being said, everthing worked ok and the large flatscreen tv was nice. The iron and board is always a nice touch to smooth those crinkles before you go and paryt. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy.

When we returned from the party, we had a nightcap in the bar. Wow the prices. £3.50 for a single gin. Don't they know that you can get a full bottle for under £15 in a supermarket and it contains 32 measures!! A G and T and a large rum was over £12. Yet the place was full. We had one and left quickly.

We slept well and the bed was comfy. There was no external noise despite a wedding.

In the morning we gave breakfast a miss as the restaurant was absolutely packed - so we left hungry.

We did not use the restaurant or the spa. The restaurant prices looked high, with a fillet steak starting at £22. The spa looked very modern.

Checkout was fast and efficient.

So no real complaints about the place, but it is expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_gm, General Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your review, I do appreciate some items are expensive, filet steak is a premium product and the most expensive item on the menu however we do offer a beautiful three course choice menu at £18 per person and is available every evening. The tea shop also offers guests light meals and snacks throughout the day. I am pleased that you found the hotel comfortable and clean and we do hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Although the room was a little tired, it was adequate. The fitness room was well equiped and spacious; the pool area was also excellent and well maintained. The dining room was busy but well staffed and both the service and food were excellent.

Room Tip: Although there was a large wedding party at the venue, there were no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I am writing this review at 2.30am as i cannot sleep with what appears to be the constant sound of a generator running. Negatives so far - key card failed per other reviews, charged £2.50 for an ice bucket, a la carte menu in room not offered in restaurant but given £25 set menu, would not upgrade sweet to irish coffee as computer said NO, but would upgrade our wine per kgb
deal in the hotels favour, Radiator in bathroom stuck on like a sauna dealt with after 3 calls to reception, restaurant under staffed, tables not cleared, bath small shower not working, wi-fi £9 per day! Would recommend to a friemd with reservations.Positives - staff lovely - behavour breeds behaviour, spa really good, location excellent for walking, restaurant food yummy, room adequate for the kgb deal. Will write another review when

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Overall impression was that the hotel is rather dated considering the price. We stayed in the courtyard area and were disturbed everytime a guest above used the balcony to access their rooms. We were also kept up due to wedding guests congregating loudly in the courtyard. Phoned reception to ask them to have a word yet noise remained unresolved. The spa area was not to the standard we expected with several sauna's having a very unpleasent smell and only two actually giving off any heat. It was a shame as the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bromley Cross hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great location, lovely sorrundings, very easy check in with attentive staff. Room was clean and comfy. Ate in the restuarant, lovely food but seemed abit rushed.
ha d agreat atmosphere and vibe but the weddings may have helped with this

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_gm, General Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for youir review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again at The Last drop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Last Drop Inn is set in a truly lovely setting but in general i would say that our stay was a disappointment. The room standard really varied between our party. Having not booked the room I was stunned that our room was £110 for the night. For that price I would expect a much higher standard with boutique standard rooms but unfortunately the rooms and the hotel looked dated and jaded. The room was quite dark and very hot, though one of our party had air conditioning our room did not. The extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy and rattled rather alarmingly as did the one in the room next door which I heard every time the people in the next room turned it on. The shower curtain was old and dirty and for the price I would expect a shower screen. Oddly the room smelt of boiled cabbage a number of times.
The toilets by the bar had a cracked floor and were not pleasant.
Parts of the changing room by the swimming pool smelt of urine which was off putting.
I would agree with the other reviews here that staff varied in their willingness to help and their politeness. The reception staff were a little scary and abrupt and you did feel like just another punter. When we got back to our room after breakfast our card key for the room didn't work so we had to go back to reception. Once there we found another 6 people needing to have their cards reactivated.

Breakfast was very good - nice cooked breakfast and choice of cereal, continental style breakfast and fruit. We had a lovely walk round the village and sat outside the pub in the sun which was very pleasant.
Overall I was disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_gm, General Manager at Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disturbed by the noise and that your room was in need of updating. We are in the process of updating the rooms and I am sure should you return we would be able to accommodate you in one of the more modern rooms. I hope you will visit again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Address: Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Bromley Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is a collection of 18th century farmhouses with 128 rooms, located on the edge of the Pennine Moors. Ideal for visiting Haydock Racecourse, Chester Zoo or the nearby Ribble Valley. 25 min from Manchester city centre and close to major road networks. Self contained conference centre accommodating up to 700 delegates. Courtyard Restaurant, Courtyard bar, Tea Shop, and Spa Naturel including indoor pool, technogym, sauna and beauty rooms. 24 hour room service, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel Bolton
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel And Spa
Last Drop Village Bolton
Last Drop Hotel Bolton
Accor Last Drop Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.