We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here Christmas night. Had a phone call to ask us to check in early as they may be short of staff. Checked in about 1pm as we were going to our daughters for Christmas Day. Couldn't have been more quick and friendly check in. We had booked the last room available and was a family room. I wasn't expecting much, but was on par with the other rooms in the hotel. Was big and spacious and decorated to the high standard as other rooms with a sea view. It was clean, warm with lovely fresh white sheets and towels, with a lovely size bathroom. Very quiet. We didn't eat here but came back with family for a drink in the evening. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good. Calm and with a nice ambience. Totally different to when we came in August. Food was lovely and hot and tea and coffee served in pots. We had 2. Fruit juices replenished. Again friendly and efficient staff. We just wish we had been there for 2 nights. Can't wIt to go there again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    182
    40
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
295
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Marine Hotel in Whitstable and had a lovely experience. The room was exceptionally good, the bed comfortable with great pillows, and temperature perfect. All the staff were polite and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and of a reasonable price. We will certainly use again.

Room Tip: We had room 22 which was a double sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a great venue for a wedding reception! The room for the wedding breakfast/evening was lovely and there is another good large area to sit whilst the wedding breakfast was being cleared. The meal and service at the wedding breakfast was very good. The rooms were excellent and the breakfast really lovely. The only problem was the inefficiency regarding the booking and paying of rooms. This really must be addressed as it caused some distress at the end of a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Marine Hotel on a number of occasions, and reviewed them here. It has been extensively renovated - and what a job they have done. The rooms are great, light and airy, the bathrooms clean with showers that give a good refreshing cleanse. The food in the restaurant was really good, and I mean REALLY good. Locally sourced food wherever possible, and the chef performs some interesting twists. The bar has a nice feel, and there is an area where you can order sandwiches an other food-all delights.

The staff are really great and professional and it was truly a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: A view across the water is better than the "town view", which is just a fancy name for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putten, Gelderland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great Hotel well located on the coast of whitstable Kent England,
a few minutes walk to the Castle it's tour worth.after drinking a nice cup of tea at the Castle,

The service is friendly and nice, Sunday is the delicious breakfast at 8 am, but if up to the plane to pick up breakfast can also previously

It's a real English hotel with a good atmosphere I think you will enjoy !

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the sea are fun, if at all possible it is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

we took our son and his girlfriend there for his birthday and we will definitely visit again, we had balcony rooms that overlooked the sea, a bit chilly (but your can't not sit out for a short time) but lovely views. the staff were ALL so helpful and more importantly cheerful, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. we had a table next to the fire and although we had intended to eat out the food looked so good on other peoples plates that we decided to eat in, we were not disappointed especially as they had proper crackers with the cheese! and the rocky road mmm,,,,,,,,, the hotel has been recently redecorated to a high standard. the 2 rooms we had were both bright, clean well decorated and both had lovely comfy beds and hight standard bathrooms. breakfast again, was served by bright helpful staff, nothing too much trouble. if there had been available rooms we would have stayed another night. the harbour was a delight to walk around and your found yourself smiling while looking around the harbour market with the local crafts, fish, paintings etc. we had doughnuts at 'the forge' on the sea front with the supplied blankets over our knees while sitting on the deckchairs. our son is at canterbury university so we will definately be visiting whitstable again. hope you enjoy it

Room Tip: all the rooms are of a hight standard but try to book a room that has a balcony that overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

the marina hotel is a hotel i would definitely visit again, we had balcony rooms that overlooked the sea, a bit chilly (but your can't not sit out for a short time) but lovely views. the staff were ALL so helpful and more importantly cheerful, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. we had a table next to the fire and although we had intended to eat out the food looked so good on other peoples plates that we decided to eat in, we were not disappointed especially as they had proper crackers with the cheese! and the rocky road mmm,,,,,,,,, the hotel has been recently redecorated to a high standard. the 2 rooms we had were both bright, clean well decorated and both had lovely comfy beds and hight standard bathrooms. breakfast again, was served by bright helpful staff, nothing too much trouble. if there had been available rooms we would have stayed another night. the harbour was a delight to walk around and your found yourself smiling while looking around the harbour market with the local crafts, fish, paintings etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.