We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

From the outside this hotel did not promise much but we were so pleasantly surprised by the recently refurbished rooms. So spacious and, for the price (£75 for non-sea view) really quite luxurious. Nice, original decor, boutique meets New England, vintage photos on walls which were a calming shade of grey with some feature wall paper, pretty bed, lovely vintage wooden dresser, only criticism would be slight overuse of chrome but that's being very critical. Staff were great, breakfast was ok (good choice of menu items but execution not brilliant). The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town - along the beach so perfect for working up an appetite. All in all a great, unassuming little place and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a sea view as it's not the most picturesque coastline in the world anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    182
    40
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
294
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We read the mixed reviews of this hotel but stayed there because a family function was being held there. We had one of the refurbished rooms and it was first class, very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The view was of the car park but this did not bother us. Another member of the family had an unrefurbished room and so I can understand the less favourable comments in some reviews. The breakfast was very good although the service at breakfast was almost non-existent. All in all, a comfortable stay and good value for money. The family party was also catered for very well.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. We did not see a lift and there are a lot of stairs if you are less mob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A lovely hotel with sea views. The staff were polite and helpful. The communal rooms were clean and pleasant if slightly dated. I think they suited the older clientele though. The room we had was lovely, light and airy. Very modern decoration, beautiful bathroom with a very strong power shower and a balcony overlooking the sea. This was a superior room, we didn't see the standard rooms but for the price still great value. Breakfast was also good, lots of choice. The hotel itself is about 10 to 15 mins walk along the street front from Whitstable itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived without any great expectations given the mixed reports of the rooms. However we were given Room 1 (rear facing, renovated) which turned out to be delightful! Comparable to a Hotel Du Vin I would say for those familiar with their rooms. Massive bathroom and lots of quirky decor (like leather suitcases on top of the wardrobe). A lot of effort has clearly gone into the new look.The staff were perfect and we ended both nights getting a bit pickled in the bar after outings to various seafood restaurants. Great beers, decent wine (not many to choose from but it's a pub, not a wine bar, and the wine was nice). An absolute bargain too. I travel a lot for work around the UK, Europe and the US so I have realistic expectations of hotels and this one is genuinely very good (I can't comment about the older rooms of course).
Oh and not forgetting a really really good breakfast with excellent waiting staff and a great choice of food.
Thanks to all at The Marine, it was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night in one of the refurbished rooms, with balcony and sea view. The room was a good size, well appointed, well supplied, and done up to a high standard. The shower was satisfyingly violent. Breakfast was fine, and included in the price of the room, which meant that all in all it represented a pretty good deal, while the staff was uniformly friendly, helpful and nice. In an old bodger of a certain generation the bar, redolent of a previous era, provoked poignant sensations of nostalgia, though it might not be to the taste of those who wish such places to be bright, shiny, expensive and superficial.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffordhshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked last minute for a 4 night stay. Lovely sea view room No23. Very comfy bed, fantastic view from window. Room had everything we required including air con and ironing board! Hotel is very old so some areas a bit shabby but I think they are working on it. The bathroom in this room does not have a proper shower, just a very efficient attachement on the bath, but we managed fine. Lovely snowy white, fluffy towels.
Breakfast probably the best we have had in a three star, with FRESH fruit, pineapple,melon- red/yellow,cut up oranges.
The first morning at 9.0 am the hot food turrins were all nearly empty and after a wait of half hour to be filled, they cooked our breakfasts to order. Dont know if they had a staff problem that morning, but every morning after that was fine.
On the day we were leaving the tables were set for a wedding. They looked beautiful, made me envy the bride!

Room Tip: Try for a sea view, fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had been meaning to stay here for ages. The hotel is opposite tankerton slopes with views to the sea. The room we had was freshly renovated and very comfortable. Not far to walk into whitstable. Staff were pleasant and breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.