We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Fisher

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pearl Fisher
Save
You added The Pearl Fisher to your Saves list
103 Cromwell Road, Whitstable CT5 1NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Trieste
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A good place to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have been at the Pearl Fisher with my children and I found a nice place where to stay in Whitstable. The owners have been very polite and they paid attention to all our needs. Rooms should be just a little cleaner but overall I liked it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    27
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
97
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned (through the snow!) from our second visit to the Pearl Fisher. We stayed in the garden room which is so comfortable. An enormous bed gave an excellent night's sleep which was followed by a breakfast which is incomparable.Jan and Gary are the perfect hosts and extremely knowledgeable of the area so can always give good advice about where to eat etc.
The whole place is full of interesting trinkets and pictures and there is always Zadoc (or baby) the resident black cat who I have never seen move from his position looking out of the window .....
Thanks again for making out stay so special we look forward to visiting again soon.
Mike and Theresa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our 2 nights in the garden room were perfect, as was the breakfast in the morning.

The garden room bed is huge - I'm 6ft5 and got lost in the space. I had a wonderful night's sleep both days. There is also a lovely variety of interesting fiction and non-fiction books, and DVDs in the room, too, which is a great touch. Direct access to the outside is wonderful too, as on one night we knew we'd be back quite late, but we didn't need to wake anyone.

Jan and Gary are very friendly and certainly make you feel welcome as guests. Their breakfast selection is very generous, and my New Years' Diet was straight out-the-window. All that said, it was perfectly healthy and where possible locally sourced (we bought some sausages from the same butcher to take home, as we enjoyed them so much!).

3 minutes walk from High Street, about 5 to the beach. A wonderful stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Garden Room: excellent for anyone wanting private access or if you think you'll be back late. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Second time back to Whitstable and must say this place ticks all the boxes. (The last place we stayed at was all style and no substance and a bit too minimalistic - eg no hot breakfast (not even a boiled egg!) and you even had to pre order whether you wanted one slice or two on the toast)

No such concerns with Pearl Fisher as the monent we entered it was as warm as toast and an equally welcome from Jan & Gary to match. Decor is eclectic with rooms themed which was fun and all rooms are ensuite - something that the last place lacked despite being over £100 per night!

Good parking at the rear and a short hop to the High Street so we could enjoy the restaurants and bars made this an ideal location to wander about from and all fairly flat for the less nimble

Breakfast was just as we imagined - freshly cooked and just what you expect from a top notch B&B and some novel home made jams a nice added touch

Jan & Gary are happy to check out and advise on local restuarants as in peak season you really need to pre book some locations especially Wheelers which is tiny

As well as a number of nice places in Whitstable (Pearsons, Samphire) it's also well worth going to Jo Jo's in Tankerton - a brisk 25-30 minute walk along th eseashore from Whitstable and in the summer you can catch some amazing sunsets on the return

Tudor tea rooms are also good and please suport the locals not Costa!

Yes we would happily stay again at Pearl Fishers!

Room Tip: Saybrook is a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was made to feel extremely welcome, really lovely spacious room, great bed and a very sound sleep. In the morning a great breakfast served by Gary who couldn't of been more helpful. Thank you very much. Jdc

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent three nights at The Pearl Fisher and enjoyed it and our stay in Whitstable. We were in the Garden Room which suited me due to my having a disability. The beds were really comfortable and although the room could not be described as being spacious it was adequate. My only reservation is with regard to the bathroom which could provide more privacy. Breakfast was excellent - I particularly enjoyed the bacon and the way it was cooked. Our hosts were friendly and chatty which I liked although my wife does prefer it to be otherwise. The location could not be bettered - only a short level walk to the main thoroughfare and harbour in a town which offers a glimpse into a better past and deserves to be cared for. TESCO keep out!

Room Tip: Level access to the Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a jewel of a find in Whitstable, it puts most 4star hotels in the shade. The attention to detail in the rooms is wonderful, there was even fresh coffee and a cafetiere alongside spring water and a comprehensive selection of teas and hot chocolate. You are offered a nightcap and pre dinner drink but don't eat too much as you wil need room for the best selection of fresh and dried fruits, cereals, breads and pastries you will encounter the following morning alongside a superb cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Fisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Fisher

Address: 103 Cromwell Road, Whitstable CT5 1NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior guest house in a quiet residential area but only a short walk from all shops, restaurants, harbour and seafront. Parking, garden, guest lounge. Close to main railway station for London or other coastal resorts.Good bus routes to Canterbury and surrounding towns and main roads to London, Dover, Ashford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pearl Fisher Hotel Whitstable
The Pearl Fisher Whitstable, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Fisher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.