We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and Cake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard's Kitchen

Howard's Kitchen
Gladstone Road, Whitstable CT5 1JG, England
07594 194000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 105 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Coffee and Cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

There's more than just the coffee and cakes that we had! Howard's Kitchen is a little off the High Street. The cakes we had we're excellent and unusually the chocolate cake was excellent - something that often disappoints - the other cakes were damn good too! The coffee was perhaps less so - but I'm fussy about coffee - it was certainly up to the standards of Starbucks, Costa and the like! So if your happy with chain coffee you can't go wrong!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited Howards twice during a week's stay in Whitstable, once for a coffee and snack and again for lunch. Both times the staff were friendly and accommodating, allowing our dog in the restaurant and at the rear on the decked outdoor seating area, also bringing our dog a bowl of water. The food was delicious - they served an array of delicious salads, quiche, pies, chilli, lasagne and sandwiches - and yummy looking cakes too. We would definitely recommend this cafe, off the beaten track from the bustling high street - and will bw back again on our next trip to Whitstable.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very good service was found, Lovely homemade salads and quiches although portions were a liitle on the small side especially taking into account the high pricing structure. I would advise visiting this place out of school holidays as the lovely peaceful coutryard atmosphere was spoilt by a couple of unruly children running havoc whilst their mums carried on enjoying their conversation is complete ignorance.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, Kent
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“solid cafe food, done well - a locals' favourite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

It's pies, it's salads, it's sandwiches. A bit pricey, but you are in Whitstable. The food is fresj and the service is friendly. Good place to stop for lunch if you're in town and want somewhere a) away from all the other visitors (it's a locals place) and b) you're not bothered about seafood.

There's a yard at the back that has a kind of ramshackle charm. They are very child friendly. Good specials on every day. Locals love Howard's, and you can often spot Gregg 'The Veg' Wallace in here form Masterchef. Not that he knows a huge amount about food, but he likes the pies.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great service, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

No comPlaints apart from they never crisp the bacon up, please insist they fi otherwise they undercook the bacon!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Howard's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.