We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent latte” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott's Coffee Shop - CLOSED

Elliott's Coffee Shop
1a Harbour Street, Whitstable CT5 1AG, England
+44 1227 276608
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $34
Cuisines: British, Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent latte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife , who has very specific latte tastes, really enjoyed the coffee from Elliot's.

We didn't eat here, but cooked breakfast looked good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    54
    18
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cosy and relaxed..biggest slices of toast and marmalade ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Popped in for late breakfast of toast and coffee. Biggest slices ever!
Warm and welcoming and popular! I imagine it is hard to get a seat on a busy weekend in season.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best coffee ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is my favourite cafe in Whitstable, so thought it appropriate my first trip advisor review was on Elliott's! I've been going here for years and I'm truly disappointed it is about to change hands, although happy to hear most of the staff are staying on. They are attentive and friendly, and despite having a lot of regular customers they know my order without me saying a word. Which is a truly lovely thing in a modern world of faceless, cold consumer culture.. I really hope nothing changes with the new ownership, although it would be nice if they were to stay open later. The coffee is delicious, as are the breakfasts and even when they are very busy it's well worth the wait, although that's never long anyway!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Still on a high from a wonderful meal the previous evening at The Sportsman, we wandered into Whistable on a Saturday morning for a spot of brunch and discovered Elliott's coffee shop. Breakfast was being served for another 10 minutes, until 11am, so we chose the full english with a cup of tea. They served us a large pot of tea which at least meant we could have more than one small cup each. It could have done with another teabag in but that's just personal choice I think. The breakfast was excellent; eggs, bacon, sausage & black pudding all cooked to perfection - this was no greasy spoon breakfast!
By the time we left lunch was being served and the paninis and salads looked very appetising too.

I noticed a sign saying the restaurant is changing ownership soon so one can only hope they keep up the good standards already set here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dismal waste of good space in whitstable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

what a shame that such a lot of space is taken up by thiscafe which serves poor food without a smile. give it a miss, there are plenty of other better cafes

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elliott's Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott's Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.