We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Save
You added The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

this is a very nice place to stay very clean rooms and they think of everything that you might need for an over night stay, tea and coffee with biscuits in the room hair dryer all shampoo conditioner body wash, tv and it also does a great breakfast all in the price, this my second stay here and would go back again the manager tony is a very nice man

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
3
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After reading the reviews on here I was slightly anxious about this hotel. However I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff seem to have a very hands off approach, the check in took about 1 minute and was very calm and relaxed. We were told that the check out was 11am but they said that as it was very quiet that it wasn't very strict. The hotel is above a pub, which although we could hear the music when we went to bed, wasn't unpleasant, and the fact that we could just wander downstairs for a drink was very convenient. It wasn't the most luxurious hotel in the world but very comfortable and relaxed and reasonably priced (£80 for a standard double room)

The next morning we had the breakfast which was very nice and enjoyable and relaxed. The pub is right in the heart of the highstreet, so central that we initially missed it! It is about 30 seconds from the harbour which is beautiful and the weather was lovely. The town is lovely and we had an excellent time, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was a standard double, very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Celebrated New Years Eve there. Had the best new years we`ve had for many years!
Live Bands were terrific...catered for all tastes and ages.
Staff were fast but still very friendly.
Looking forward to next year Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed here for one night (Fri 23rd Nov) I did not expect too much....just needed a bed to crash for the night.
Had a particularly boozy night with some mates... I could not fault the place...The bar staff were always polite & attentive. I think he was the landlord who could not have been more polite & helpful
The room was clean & the shower powerful. I did not expect to be asked "what would you like for breakfast?" It seems that nothing would have been too much trouble! We opted for a full English& very full it was too! The coffee was quite possibly the best I have ever had.
The band ( Cut The Funk) on Friday night were great as were the patrons...a good mix of all ages & all appeared to have a great evening.. I highly recommend this place as a place to stay and have a good night out.. Thank you Duke of Cumberland .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked our room in the morning of the day we stayed because we realised we had booked a room at the wrong location! Even at such short notice, nothing was a bother.

The manager who's name escapes me (sorry) took our bags up to the room and upgraded us to a bigger double as opposed to the standard smaller double we had booked.

The room was huge and had a sofa in it too. I could suggest a full length mirror to be put in the room as two girls getting ready for a wedding need lots of mirrors!

The light in the room was great, and the bed was comfortable.

They cooked us breakfast to cure our hangovers and I can honestly say it was the best breakfast I've ever had. The manager kept making me tea as well which was lovely :)

Thank you for making our weekend so easy and comfortable. Sorry we were so drunk when we got back, and thank you for looking after us!

Tash and Emily, room 6! x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

i stayed here and it was a great place to stay right in the center of whitstable , the breakfast was super and the room was spotless en suite with nice soft towels , with tea and coffee making in your room and a television would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an odd ball, hippy chic pub in the centre of town, serving good beer and great food. We have stayed twice and will probably stay again. location is great, but noisy, as it is in the centre of town and everything goes past it.

The management and staff are superb. As they do say on their website, it is above a pub that does do music, so expect to hear the noise in your room if you go to bead early!

the cost is reasonable, the rooms are fresh and clean, and the bed was comfortable.

I recommend it if you are a sound sleeper, or join in with the fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

Address: High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big, bustling public house, hotel and restaurant in the centre of Whitstable, right next to Harbour Street and a stone's throw from the beach. Now incorporating Salt Marsh restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel Whitstable, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.