We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts
Save
You added Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts to your Saves list
Sea Wall, Whitstable, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed one night in hut 2. Crisp white bedding, huge bed. Lost the other half the bed was so enormous. Woke to bright sunshine and an amazing view of the sea. The hotel was being refurbished but we are so glad we stayed here. Charming, unusual, enough room for five. Breakfast room at the hotel was a bit characterless and needs a facelift, but the chsrm of the huts makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
hi
Great you had a good time in hut 1 the bed is a super kingsize!!
Hopefully the hotel will be finished by the time you come next
ta
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    64
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
48
109
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had the most fantastic time, brilliant location right on the beach (we had number 8 & 9), clean and well kitted out. One of the best breakfast we have had! Planning on a return trip with our children.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for coming and taking the time to write a review.
see you again soon
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband booked Hut 14 as a birthday treat and it was a fantastic choice. The hut overlooks the beach, has a spacious balcony, a kitchenette, two bedrooms, and is a stones throw from the town centre. It really was a lovely place to spend a few days.

Downsides:
The door to the balcony wouldn't open so we reported it to the hotel and were told to find the lady who looks after them ourselves and told what she looks like… It never got fixed. We had to climb in and out of a window to make use of it. Not ideal but we managed. The balcony could do with a small table too. When we arrived there were biscuits, tea and milk for us which was great but this was not restocked for the 4 days we were there. Bit odd. We also left the odd mug and tea spoon but the cleaners never washed it up. Is it a hotel or self catering? Bills itself as a hotel but it felt like it was self catering.

Breakfast is at the main hotel so a 10 min walk away. Not a problem on the days we were there because its a nice seafront stroll but I imagine it would be less nice in the rain. Breakfast was tasty with a good range and very unhurried. Could take as long as we wanted over an extra slice of toast overlooking the sea.

I would definitely recommended but shame about a few details. The main issue was the lack of access to the balcony which was the main reason we chose this hut over all the others. That should have been fixed and its pretty poor that it wasn't even looked at.

Room Tip: Hut 14 looks to be the only one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
hi
great that you enjoyed hut 14 -not great that you could not gain access to the balcony. I do not know who you spoke to at reception but the message did not get passed on to the maintenance team ie me!!! I did repair the fault shortly afterwards. The tea and coffee making facilities should of been replenished and cleaned -I shall bring this up.
If you decide to come and try hut 14 again with a fully working door please ask to speak to james green.
thanks again james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked this on a spur of the moment as a birthday treat for my husband. The reception staff were so patient with me on the phone as I kept asking all sorts of questions about each hut and finally choose hut no 14.
Check in was easy and staff again helpful on arrival. Our hut was amazing and everything you could wish for, clean, warm spacious and attention to detail.
Breakfast the following morning was really to die for, everything was fresh and clearly local produce was used, there was plenty of choice with juices, toast and cereals before the main course.
The hotel itself is rather run down and we were apologised to for all the noise and building work going on as it is being refurbished - I can't wait to see it again once it is finished!
All in all a brilliant stay, the staff are lovely and the service is great - we will defiantly be returning again. Well done guys!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
hi
thanks for the review hut 14 is set on its own and larger than the other huts but has fabulous views over the sea. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment at the moment, the rooms are being done first and then we are moving on to the downstairs. WE already have half a dozen newly refurbed seafront rooms, some with balconies.
hope to see you again soon
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely stay in the Fisherman huts over a beautiful sunny Spring weekend. Bright and airy top bedroom floor with views of the sea. Found lodge clean and kept in good shape.

Standard facilities (tea/toaster) etc which we didn't really need but I wouldn't be planning on self catering (more just added touches). Bathroom is small- but excellent shower.

Only complaint is the bed which was two singles zipped together- so spent night either rolling in or trying to get out of the middle! Thankfully the sea air had made us tired

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
hi
Great you had a good stay and the sea air had the desired effect.. Originally the reason for having zipped mattresses was that the stairs are so narrow that we thought we could not get a kingsize mattress up the stairs!-but we experimented and did eventually get one up last week so the rest of the zipped mattresses will be change before summer
thanks again
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently had a weekend staying in hut 8. The hut was fabulous and very well equipped with a fridge, microwave, cutlery, glasses, plates and bowls and a well stocked hospitality tray. Nicely decorated and very comfortable, warm and very clean. Each hut has its own allocated parking. The views across the beach were amazing. All local amenities are within easy walking distance, we never used our car once whilst staying here. We enjoyed the walk to the hotel for breakfast which was very tasty and you can help yourself to as much as you want, there was a good selection of both hot and cold to choose from. All staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly. We will definitely be back and can't praise the hut enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Anderson Shed on the Monday of the Feb half term. (Myself, my friend, her 2 daughters and my 2 daughters). The check in was quick, the shed was absolutely fab. So tasteful & clean and plenty of room for the 6 of us. We had amazing weather. The location of the cottage style shed allowed us beautiful views of the boats, beach and perfect Whitstable skies. It was surprisingly quiet. We all enjoyed our breakfast at the Hotel Continental and really loaded up our plates. We had such a great time, we wished we could have stayed longer. No negatives whatsoever. A huge plus is the free parking space next to the shed. I must mention how pleasant the ladies at the reception were - a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
i'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the anderson's shed -it is great for larger parties and is separate from the other huts. I'm afraid i can't take credit for the weather but i have passed your comments onto the staff and said good job!!!!
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts

Address: Sea Wall, Whitstable, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Fisherman's Huts have been tastefully converted to provide a variety of overnight accommodation, most with sea views, in a very central location ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts Whitstable, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.